Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : Journals and Databases

Journals and Databases

Journals

Begin research on related topics for this year's Common Reading using "oral history," "," and "" as keywords in the Full Text Journal Listing's title search. The titles below may help guide research.

  • Oral History Review
  • Oral History Forum
  • Civil War Times
  • Civil War History
  • American 19th Century History
  • Journal of African-American History

 

Databases

 

Journals, unfortunately, do not offer easy subject searching; databases do. Below are listed a few of the databases which may provide information for topics discussed or used in the Common Reading.

Points of View Reference Center

Academic Search Complete (for general articles on diverse topics)

JSTOR (for history)

 

SocIndex with Full Text (social interactions personal and group, social work)

PsycINFO (for articles concerning human personality and behavior)

 

Other resources and databases can be found in the Electronic Resources research guide; the resources list also has a subject guide for easier research.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Frances Marshall
chat loading...

Civil War-Era Newspapers

Shepherd University has an extensive list of Civil War-era newspapers on microfilm available for researchers' use.

Civil War-era Newspapers

 

Some of these may be held online through the Library of Congress's Chronicling America initiative; in order to check, type or copy and paste the relevant newspaper name into the search bar at their website and hit search.