Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on Social and Racial Inequality in Society and Law

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is social and racial inequity and the legal system. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

  

Inequality: opposing viewpoints in social problems/Lori Shein, book editor.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HN79.S6 I53 1998

 

The Lanahan readings in civil rights and civil liberties / edited by David M. O'Brien

Circulating collection, 3rd floor

KF 4749.A2 L36 1999

American constitutional law. Volume 1, Governmental powers and democracy essays, cases, and comparative notes / Donald P. Kommers, John E. Finn, Gary J. Jacobsohn.

 

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

KF4550 .K65 2010eb

The new Jim Crow : mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness / Michelle Alexander

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV 9950.A437 2012

   

Race manners for the 21st century : navigating the minefield between Black and White Americans in an age of fear / Bruce A. Jacobs.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E185.615 .J297 2006

 

  

 Class, race, gender, and crime the social realities of justice in America / Gregg Barak, Paul Leighton, and Jeanne Flavin.

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

HV9950 .B34 2010eb

 Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "legal assistance to the poor," "United States--social conditions," "Criminal justice, United States," "race relations," and "Constitutional law" to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" in order to find titles within Scarborough Library's collection.

Books on Capital Punishment (Death Penalty)

 

Here are  some current titles about capital punishment from the library collection:

 

The death penalty : an American history / Stuart Banner

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV8699.U5 B367 2003

        

Just revenge : costs and consequences of the death penalty / Mark Costanzo.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV8699.U5 C67 1997b

 

 

Stay of execution saving the death penalty from itself / Charles Lane.


NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

HV8699.U5 L366 2010eb

The death penalty : opposing viewpoints / Diane Andrews Henningfeld, book editor ; Bonnie Szumski, publisher ; Helen Cothran, managing editor.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 HV8694 .D3814 2006

 

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "capital punishment," and "death penalty"   to obtain a good selection.Limit the search to Shepherd University to locate items held at Scarborough Library

Questions of Care: Juveniles, the Mentally Ill, and the Legal System

Here are two titles that deal with other issues raised in the Common Reading:

Serving mentally ill offenders : challenges and opportunities for mental health professionals / Gerald Landsberg ... [et al.]

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

RC451.4.P68 S46 2002

Children's rights under the law/Samuel M. Davis.

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

KF479 .D385 2011eb

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "mentally ill offenders," "children's legal status" and "youth offenders" to obtain a good selection. Limit the search to Shepherd University to locate items held at Scarborough Library