Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : Media Collection

DVDs: African-American Experience Theme

 

Harriet/directed by Kasi Lemmons ; screenplay by Gregory Allen Howard and Kasi Lemmons ; story by Gregory Allen Howard ; produced by Debra Martin Chase, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Gregory Allen Howard ; a Focus Features presentation ; in association with Perfect World Pictures ; a Stay Gold Features/Debra Martin Chase production ; a film by Kasi Lemmons.

Scarborough Library Display Case B&T DVD PN1997.2 .H37 2020
 

Underground Railroad: The William Still Story/a production of 90th Parallel Productions Ltd., in association with Rogers Broadcasting Limited and WNED-TV Buffalo/Toronto ; director, producer, and writer, Laine Drewery.

DVD Video Collection, near Public Services Desk

E450.U52 2012

The Abolitionists/ American Experience Films presents ; written, produced & directed by Rob Rapley ; an Apograph Productions Inc. film for American Experience ; a production of WGBH.

DVD Video Collection, near Public Services Desk

E449 .A26 2013

The Massachusetts 54th colored infantry/ produced and directed by Jacqueline Shearer ; telescript by Jacqueline Shearer and Leslie Lee ; a Reel Deal Productions film for American Experience.

DVD Video Collection, near Public Services Desk

E540.N3 M37 2006

 

 

"Just Mercy" Official Trailer

 

Here is the official movie trailer for "Just Mercy", posted to  YouTube by  Warner Brothers Pictures on September  4, 2019. This movie, based on the book by Equal Justice Initiative founder, lawyer Bryan Stevenson, showcases the inequality and inequity still present in the American legal system even though every American citizen is entitled to fair treatment under the law.

 

Mr. Stevenson's book, also titled Just Mercy, was a  Shepherd University Common Reading in the 2016-2017 academic year.

 

Official Trailer for "Harriet"

Here is the official trailer for "Harriet" posted to YouTube by  Focus Features on July 23, 2019.

 

DVDs: Social Justice

 

Bill T. Jones: Dancing to the Promised Land

DVD Collection, Near Public Services Desk

GV1783.J66 2004

 

A Force More Powerful: A Century of Non-Violent Conflict

DVD Collection, Near Public Services Desk

HM1281 .F67 2000

 

Won't You Be My Neighbor?

DVD Collection, Near Public Services Desk

PN1992.4.R56 W66 2018

 

Taking Root: the Vision of Wangari Maathai

DVD Collection, Near Public Services Desk

SB63.M22 T34 2008

 

Just Mercy

DVD Collection, Near Public Services Desk

PN1997.2 .J87 2019

 

 

Music CDs

The Long Road to Freedom: An Anthology of Black Music

Scarborough Library Music CD

M1670 .L654 2001

 

Songs of the Civil War

Scarborough Library Music CD

M1637 .S66 1991

Voices of the Civil Rights Movement: Black American Freedom Songs 1960-1966

Scarborough Library Music CD

M1977.C47 V65 1997