Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on Walking, Cross-Country Travel, and Pilgrimage

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is walking, especially its social, psychological, economic and personal impacts. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

bookcovertitledOnFootAHistoryofWalking

On Foot: a history of walking/ by Michael Oriard

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

 

bookcoverWalkingontheWildSidebookcover

Walking on the Wild Side: long distance hiking on the Appalachian Trail / by Kristi McLeod Fondren

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

 

 bookcovertitledAWalkingLifebyAntoniaMalchik

A Walking Life: reclaiming our health and our freedom one step at a time / Antonia Malchik

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GV1071.M35 2019

bookcovertitledWalkingwiththeWindA Memoirof the MovementbyJohnLewis

Walking With the Wind: a memoir of the movement by John Lewis

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E840.8.L43 A3 1999

 Search for other titles in   WorldCat Discovery using the  subjects "walking," "travel,"   and "hiking,"  to obtain a good selection. Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

Classic Cross-Country Road Trips and Pilgrimages

Below are a few classic works that travel across America, though perhaps not always on foot.

American notes: for general circulation by Charles Dickens (e book)

Ernie's America: the best of Ernie Pyle's 1930's travel dispatches (print)

Travels With Charley: In Search of America by John Steinbeck

Books on Listening and Communication

 

Here are  some current titles about listening, communicating effectively, and related topics from the library collection:

 bookcovertitledListeningIsanActofLove

Listening is an Act of Love: a celebration of American life from the StoryCorps Project/ David Isay

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E169.Z8 L49 2007

      bookcovertitledDeepListeningHiddenMeaningsinEverydayConversation

Deep listening: uncovering the hidden meanings in everyday conversation/ Robert E. Haskell

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

 

Interpersonal Communication / Peter Hartley

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource


 

The Lost Art of Listening / Michael P Nichols

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BF323.L5 N53 1995

 

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "listening," "interpersonal communication" and "personal interview"  to obtain a good selection. For more recent titles, limit the search to "Publication Year--Last 5 Years." Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

 

Books on Oral History and Interviewing

Here is a sampling of titles about oral history and conducting personal interviews.

Curating Oral History: From Interview to Archive/ by Nancy MacKay (e-book)

Oral History Interview Guidelines/ United States Holocaust  Memorial Museum, Department of Oral History

Scarborough Library Government Documents

Y 3.H 74:8 H 62

The Tape-Recorded Interview: a manual for field workers in folklore and oral history/ by Edward D. Ives

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GR45.5.I93 1980