Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is American football, especially its social, psychological, economic and personal impacts. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

Book cover of Brand NFL: making and selling America's favorite sport

Brand NFL making and selling America's favorite sport / Michael Oriard.

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

GV954.3 .O75 2010eb

 

 

Book cover for Rooting for the home team: sport, community and identity

Rooting for the home team : sport, community, and identity / edited by Daniel A. Nathan.

Circulating collection, 3rd floor

GV706.5.R66 2013

 

Book cover of Glory for sale: fans, dollars and the new NFL

Glory for sale : fans, dollars, and the new NFL / by Jon Morgan.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GV956.C6 M67 1997

 

book cover of Just call me John: the leadership story of John Gagliardi

Just call me John : the leadership story of John Gagliardi / by David J. Weeres.

Temporarily shelved at Reserve Shelf behind Public Services Desk

GV956.6.W438 2010

 

The I in team : sports fandom and the reproduction of identity / Erin C. Tarver.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GV715.T379 2017

 

Media industries : the production of news and entertainment / Joseph Turow.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HM258.T87 1984

 Search for other titles in   WorldCat Discovery using the subjects "sports identity," "mass media and sports,"   and "sports--moral and ethical aspects,"  to obtain a good selection. Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

Background Fears

Here are two titles that focus on professional ethics in regards to research

Ethics of Scientific Research / Kristin Shrader-Frechette

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

Q180.55 .M67 S48 1994

Making Sense of Science: Separating Substance from Spin / Cornelia Dean

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

Q225.D43 2017

Books on Immigration and Human Rights

 

Here are  some current titles about the brain, medical ethics and related topics from the library collection:

 bookcover of The Consciousness Instinct

Consciousness Instinct: unraveling the mystery of how the brain makes the mind / Michael Gazzaniga

Temporarily shelved at on New arrivals shelving, in front of Public Services Desk

QP376.G386 2018

      Book cover of My stroke of insight: a brain scientist's personal journey

My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey/Jill Bolte Taylor, MD

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

RC388.5.T387 2009

 

 

Power, inc. : public and private rulers and how to make them accountable / Morton Mintz & Jerry S. Cohen

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HN90.E4 M56 1976


 

Forensic science in court challenges in the twenty-first century / Donald E. Shelton

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

KF9674.S54 2011eb

 

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "professional ethics," "power(social sciences)" and "brain"  to obtain a good selection. For more recent titles, limit the search to "Publication Year--Last 5 Years." Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

Topical ebooks from EBSCO

Here are a sampling of titles from EBSCOHost's electronic books collections  that relate to this year's Common Reading. Provided along with the titles is the EBSCO database where the e-book is found (though it is also possible to search all four e-book databases collectively.

Note: These titles are often NOT listed in the library catalog; they are provided through our databases..

Is There Life After Football? Surviving the NFL by James A Holstein, Richard S Jones and George E Koonce, Jr (located in ebooks Academic Collection)

Football and American Identity by Gerhard Falk (located in ebooks Academic Collection)

The Ethics of Coaching Sports: Moral, Social and Legal Issues by Robert L Simon (located in ebooks Academic Collection)

Concussions in Athletics:Assessment, Management and Emerging Issues by Eric E Hall and Caroline Ketcham (located in ebook Collection EBSCO)