Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on North Korea

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is North Korea, especially its citizens, social order, and perceptions inside and outside the nation. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

   Pyongyang:A Journey in North Korea book cover

Pyongyang : a journey in North Korea / Guy Delisle ; [translated by Helge Dascher].


Graphic Novel Collection. Main Floor, By Room 248

PN6733.D44 P913 2007

 

The Cleanest Race: How North Koreans See Themselves and Why it Matters book cover

The cleanest race : how North Koreans see themselves--and why it matters / B.R. Myers.

Circulating collection, 3rd floor

HN730.6.Z9 M66 2010

 

The Koreans : contemporary politics and society / Donald Stone Macdonald ; edited and revised by Donald N. Clark.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

DS907.18 .M33 1996

Art Under Control in North Korea book cover

Art under control in North Korea / Jane Portal.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

N7370.P67 2005

    The Hidden People of North Korea: Everyday Life in the Hermit Kingdom book cover

The hidden people of North Korea : everyday life in the hermit kingdom / Ralph Hassig and Kongdan Oh.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

DS932.7.H37 2009

 

  NorthKoreaHandbookcover

 North Korea Handbook / Yonhap News Agency, Seoul ; translated by Monterey Interpretation and Translation Services.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

DS932 .N6658 2003

 Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using the subjects "North Korea," "Korea--History,"   and "Korean reunification question,"  to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to find titles available at Scarborough Library.

Background Fears

Here are two titles that focus on underlying anger and tensions between the US and North Korean governments.

Drawing the line : the Korean War, 1950-1953 / Richard Whelan

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

DS 918.W46 1990

Nuclear North Korea : a debate on engagement strategies / Victor D. Cha, David C. Kang

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

UA853.K7 C445 2003

Books on Immigration and Human Rights

 

Here are  some current titles about human rights,immigration,  and related topics from the library collection:

 Deport, Deprive, Extradite: 21st Century State Extremism book cover

Deport deprive extradite : 21st century state extremism / Nisha Kapoor

K5445 .K37 2018

        

Encyclopedia of contemporary American social issues/Michael Shally-Jensen, editor

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

HN59.2.E343 2011eb

LivesInLimbobook cover

 

Lives in limbo : undocumented and coming of age in America / Roberto G. Gonzales ; with a foreword by Jose Antonio Vargas.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

JV6600.G66 2016


 

Necessary Evil: How to Save Humanity by Saving Human Rights book cover

Necessary evil : how to fix finance by saving human rights / David Kinley..

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HB501 .K468954 2018

 

Search for other titles in  WorldCat Discovery using "human rights" and "immigration"  to obtain a good selection. In order to locate titles within Scarborough Library, limit your search to "Shepherd University."

More Voices

Here are two titles that act as companion works to this year's pick:

Every falling star : the true story of how I survived and escaped North Korea / Sungju Lee & Susan McClelland.

DS935.7773.L44 A3 2017

 

Escape from camp 14 : one man's remarkable odyssey from North Korea to freedom in the West / Blaine Harden

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV9815.6 .H37 2013