Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on Freedoms and Rights

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is freedom, physical and in other ways, specifically for the African American community, and how the need for it (and equal representation) impacts society via activism, example, and continued lived experience. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

 

The Emancipation Proclamation/ by John Hope Franklin

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E453 .F8

 

 

 

Underground Railroad/ by William Still

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E450 .S85 1968

 

 

 

book cover for No Property in Man:Slavery and Anti-slavery at the Nation's Founding by Steve Wilentz

No Property in Man:Slavery and Anti-Slavery at the Nation's Founding/ Sean Wilentz

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

KF4545.S5 W59 2019

 

Gender and the Jubilee: Black Freedom and the Reconstruction of Citizenship in Civil War Missouri/ Sharon Romeo

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

bookcovertitledWalkingwiththeWindA Memoirof the MovementbyJohnLewis

Walking With the Wind: a memoir of the movement by John Lewis

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E840.8.L43 A3 1999

FrederickDouglassSelectedSpeechesandWritingsbook cover

 

Frederick Douglass: Selected Speeches and Writings/Frederick Douglass, Phillip Sheldon Foner, Yuval Taylor

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 Search for other titles in   WorldCat Discovery using the  subjects "slavery," "anti-slavery,"  "emancipation" and "civil rights,"  to obtain a good selection. Related topics include the Civil War (1861-1865), the Constitution and its amendments, suffrage, and race relations. Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

Books on Nineteenth Century Women and Gender Roles

 

Here are  some  titles about women, their roles (actual and perceived), and their concerns and choices in the time-frame of Harriet Tubman's life and related topics from the library collection:

 

Dr. Mary Walker: an American Radical, 1832-1919/ Sharon M Harris

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

     

Preacher Woman Sings the Blues: the Autobiographies of Nineteenth Century African-American Evangelists/ Richard J Douglass-Chin

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

Masterful Women:Slaveholding Widows from the American Revolution through the Civil War/ Kirsten E Wood

 

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E443 .W666 2004

 

Disorderly Conduct: Visions of Gender in Victorian America/ Carroll Smith-Rosenberg

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HQ1419.S58 1986


 

Divided Houses: Gender and the Civil War/ Caroline Clinton

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HQ1075.U6 D58 1992

 

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "women," "gender" and "Victorian" or "nineteenth century,"  and "civil rights"   to obtain a good selection. For more recent titles, limit the search to "Publication Year--Last 5 Years." Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

 

How to Change the World: Tell a Story

Below are a few classic works by women of the nineteenth century that (eventually) changed world-views.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (e book): better care of horses and those who worked with them; removal of the bearing rein)

Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe (e book):

Narrative of Sojourner Truth by Sojourner Truth (e book) :