Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : Journals and Databases

Journals and Databases

Journals

Begin research on related topics for this year's Common Reading using "neurology," "sports injuries," and "brain" as keywords in the Full Text Journal Listing's title search. The titles below are four examples.

  • Brain: A Journal of Neurology
  • Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry
  • Journal of Sports Science and Medicine
  • Sports Illustrated

 

Databases

 

Journals, unfortunately, do not offer easy subject searching; databases do. Below are listed a few of the databases which may provide information for topics discussed or used in the Common Reading.

Points of View Reference Center

Academic Search Complete (for general articles on diverse topics)

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (for sports and recreation related topics)

SocIndex with Full Text (for the social issues and concerns associated with  concussions, sports, media and other related topics.)

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost): for topics dealing with the legal and judicial handling of human interactions both criminal and civil.

PsycINFO (for articles concerning human personality and behavior)

Health Source Consumer Edition: a database that provides information about diverse health topics for the general public

 

Other resources and databases can be found in the Electronic Resources research guide; the resources list also has a subject guide for easier research.

 

Subject Guide

Frances Marshall's picture
Frances Marshall
chat loading...