Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on Poverty and Childhood Homelessness

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is homelessness, especially as it affects children and teenagers. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

   Cover of Inequality: Opposing Viewpoints in Social Problems

Inequality: opposing viewpoints in social problems/Lori Shein, book editor.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HN79.S6 I53 1998

 

cover of Almost Home: Helping Kids from Homelessness to Hope

Almost home:helping kids move from homelessness to hope/ Kevin Ryan and Tina Kelley

Circulating collection, 3rd floor

HV4505.R798 2012

 cover of What About America's Homeless Children?: Hide and Seek

What about America's homeless children?: hide and seek / Paul G. Shane

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV4505.S53 1996

cover of Out of Sight, Out of Mind: Homeless Children and Families in Small-Town America

Out of sight, out of mind: homeless children and families in small-town America / Yvonne Marie Vissing

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV 4505.V57 1996

    Cover of Surviving Poverty: Creating Sustainable Ties among the Poor

Surviving poverty : creating sustainable ties among the poor / Joan Maya Mazelis

Temporarily shelved at on New arrivals shelving, in front of Public Services Desk

HC79.P6 M394 2017

 

  

 Encyclopedia of contemporary American social issues/Michael Shally-Jensen, editor

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

HN59.2.E343 2011eb

 Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "legal assistance to the poor," "United States--social conditions,"  "welfare reform," and "homelessness," to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to find titles available at Scarborough Library.

Books on Education and the Public School System

 

Here are  some current titles about education and related topics from the library collection:

 cover of  The Prize: Who's in Charge of America's Schools?

The prize: Who's in charge of America's schools? / Dale Russakoff

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

LA333.N4 R87 2015

        

cover of Wasting Minds: Why our Education System is Failing and What We Can Do about It

Wasting minds: why our education system is failing and what we can do about it / Ronald A. Wolk.

Net Library.Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 LA 217.2.W65 2011eb

 

Cover of Teaching 2030: What We Must Do for Our Students Now and in the Future

Teaching 2030 : what we must do for our students and our public schools : now and in the future / Barnett Berry and the TeacherSolutions 2030 Team, Jennifer Barnett ... [et al.]..

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

LB1025.3.B4735 2011

cover of Making Reform Work: The Case for Transforming America's Higher Education

Making reform work : the case for transforming American higher education / Robert Zemsky

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 LA227.4 .Z45 2009

 

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "public schools," and "higher education"  to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to find titles available at Scarborough Library.

Recommendations by the Common Reading Panel

Here are two titles that the Common Reading panel also suggests as companion works to this year's pick:

Blackbird : a childhood lost and found / Jennifer Lauck

CT275.L2715 A3 2001

 

Another place at the table / Kathy Harrison

HV883.M4 H37 2004