Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on Preservation of Appalachia

 

Here are the most current titles about preserving Appalachia's resources; small victories are still victories.

    

Moving mountains : how one woman and her community won justice from big coal / Penny Loeb

 Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 KF228.B733 L64 2007

  

Saving seeds, preserving taste :heirloom seed savers in Appalachia / Bill Best

 Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 SB118.38 .B47 2013

 

Appalachia in the classroom : teaching the region / edited by Theresa L. Burriss and Patricia M. Gantt

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106 .A575 2013

 

 

Along with these, Scarborough Library has several volumes of the popular Foxfire series, which detail the Appalachian region's skills, pastimes, crafts, tales and home truths. Some of the items (in different volumes) include:

  • spring wild foods
  • chair-making
  • summer and fall wild foods
  • ghost stories
  • fiddle-making
  • banjos and dulcimers
  • blacksmithing
  • ginseng
  • railroad lore

Search for these books in WorldCat Discovery under the title "Foxfire" to obtain the best results.Limit your results to Shepherd University to find items held at this library.

Folk Songs and Sheet Music

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

 

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3

The Cripple Creek dulcimer book: an instruction manual and song collection / written by Bud Ford and Donna Ford

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

MT717.2 .F67 1977

English folk songs from the Southern Appalachians. Comprising 274 songs and ballads, with 968 tunes, including 39 tunes contributed by Olive Dame Campbell. Edited by Maud Karpeles.

Sharp, Cecil James, 1859-1924.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 M1629.S53 E6 1952

Books on Mountaintop Removal

One of the main themes in the Common Reading novel for this year is mountaintop removal and its impact on people and place. Below are some resources in the library's physical collection about this topic.

        

 

 Standing Our Ground: Women, Environmental Justice and the fight to end Mountaintop Removal/Joyce M Barry

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GE235.A13 B37 2012

 

 

 

Mountains of the heart : a natural history of the Appalachians / Scott Weidensaul  

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

QH104.5.A6 W45 1994

 

 

Mountains of injustice : social and environmental justice in Appalachia / edited by Michele Morrone and Geoffrey L. Buckley; foreword by Donald Edward Davis; afterword by Jedediah S. Purdy.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GE235.A13 M68 2011

 

 

 

   

Lost mountain: a year in the vanishing wilderness : radical strip mining and the devastation of Appalachia / Erik Reece; foreword by Wendell Berry ; photographs by John J. Cox.

Byrd Center for Legislative Studies, In-house Use Only.

TD195.S75 R43 2006

Combating mountaintop removal : new directions in the fight against big coal / Bryan T. McNeil.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

TD195.C58 M38 2012

 

 

   

Bringing down the mountains : the impact of mountaintop removal surface coal miningon southern West Virginia communities, 1970-2004 / Shirley Stewart Burns

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HD9547.W4 B87 2007

 

 Another item in our collection has a chapter ("Days of devastation" on mountaintop removal's effects in Welch, WV. The title of the book is Days of destruction, days of revolt  by Chris Hedges and Joe Sacco; its call number is HC110.P6 H43 2012.