Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection2014

Books on Women's Rights

 

Here are  some current titles about  women, women's rights and gender studies.

    
Reconstructing gender : a multicultural anthology / [edited by] Estelle Disch

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
HQ1075 .R43 2009

        

Half the sky : turning oppression into opportunity for women worldwide / Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
HQ1236.5.D44 K74 2010

 

 

Confronting global gender justice women's lives, human rights / edited by Debra Bergoffen ... [et al.]


NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

HQ1236 .C626 2011eb

 

Women in Middle Eastern history : shifting boundaries in sex and gender / edited by Nikki R. Keddie, Beth Baron

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HQ1726.5 .W66 1991

 

 

 

Search for other titles in  WorldCatDiscovery using "women," "girls,"  and "women's rights" to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to find items held by Scarborough Library.

Books on Pakistan

Here are two new titles on modern Pakistan or its culture that the library has in its collection.

 Pakistan: Deep Inside the World's Most Frightening State/ Mary Anne Weaver

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
DS384 .W43 2010

 Pakistan / Safia Haleem

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
DS376.8 .H165 2013


Hanging fire : contemporary art from Pakistan / Salima Hashmi ; with contributions from Naazish Ata-Ullah ... [et al.]


Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor
N7310.7 .H265 2009

 

Search for other titles in  WorldCat Discovery using "Pakistan"  to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to Shepherd University to find titles held by Scarborough Library.

Books on Education

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is that of education for all people. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this subject that focus on educational systems in Pakistan and the modern Islamic world.

      

Gender and education in Pakistan / edited by Rashida Qureshi, Jane F.A. Rarieya


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

LC2330 .G46 2007

 

       
Shaping a nation : an examination of education in Pakistan / edited by Stephen Lyon and Iain Edgar ; series editor, Ali Khan


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
LA1156 .S524 2010

 

Comparative studies in special education / Kas Mazurek, Margret A. Winzer, editors


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
LC3965 .C54 1994

 

    

The moral economy of the madrasa Islam and education today / edited by Keiko Sakurai and Fariba Adelkhah

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 LC904 .M67 2011eb

    

Academically adrift : limited learning on college campuses / Richard Arum and Josipa Roksa

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
LA227.4 .A78 2011

 

      

Assignments matter : making the connections that help students meet standards / Eleanor Dougherty

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
 LB1025.3 .D68 2012

   

   

 Search for other titles in  WorldCat Discovery using "schools," "education,"  and "teaching" to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to Shepherd University to find works located in our library's collection.