Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection2015

Books on Robots and Robotics

 

Here are  some current titles about  robots and robotics from the library collection:

    

Loving the machine : the art and science of Japanese robots / Timothy N. Hornyak.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

TJ211 .H66 2006 

        

Robots, machines in man's image / Isaac Asimov and Karen A. Frenkel.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
TJ211 .A83 1985 

 

 

Sublime dreams of living machines [electronic resource] : the automaton in the European imagination / Minsoo Kang.


NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

TJ211.15 .K36 2011eb 

Multi-modal interaction management for a robot companion / Shuyin Li.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 TJ211.49 .L5 2008 

 

 

 

Search for other titles in  WorldCat Discovery using "robots," and "robotics"   to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to locate titles found at Scarborough Library.

Classic Science Fiction

Here are two science fiction titles that deal with themes and issues raised in the Common Reading:

Those amazing electronic thinking machines! : an anthology of robot and computer stories / edited by Isaac Asimov, Martin S. [i.e. H.] Greenberg, Charles H. [i.e. G.] Waugh. 

1983 

PZ5 .T37 1983 

Nineteen eighty-four, a novel.

1949 

 PR6029.R8 N5 1949 

Search for other titles in  WorldCat Discovery using "Asimov, Isaac," "Bradbury, Ray" in author search to begin finding titles of interest. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to locate titles held at Scarborough Library.

Books on How Computer Technology Affects Body, Mind and Behavior

One of the main topics in this year's Common Reading is that of how technology affects social interactions. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

  

Mobile wave : how mobile intelligence will change everything / Michael Saylor.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

QA76.59 .S39 2012 

 

No sense of place : the impact of electronic media on social behavior / Joshua Meyrowitz.


Circulating Collection, 3rd floor
HM258 .M49 1985 

 

IBrain : surviving the technological alteration of the modern mind / Gary Small and Gigi Vorgan.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

QP376 .S6377 2008 

 

Sign here! [electronic resource] : handwriting in the age of new media / edited by Sonja Neef, José van Dijck, and Eric Ketelaar.

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

   

Breakup 2.0 : disconnecting over new media / Ilana Gershon.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HM851 .G4723 2010 

 

  

Affective computing and interaction [electronic resource] : psychological, cognitive and neuroscientific perspectives / [edited by] Didem Gökçay, Gülsen Yildirim.

NetLibrary. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

QA76.9.H85 A485 2011eb 

 

 Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "computer," "information technology,"  and "human-computer interaction" to obtain a good selection. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to locate items held specifically at Scarborough LIbrary.