Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Common Reading : In Our Collection

Books on Appalachian Identity

One of the main themes in this year's Common Reading is Appalachian cultural identity--how we perceive ourselves and how the rest of the world understands us. Here are some current selections from the library's collection on this and other related topics

Book Cover for What You're Getting Wrong About Appalachia by Elizabeth Catte

 

What You Are Getting Wrong About Appalachia/ Elizabeth Catte

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 F217.A65 C37 2018

 

 

Appalachian Values/ by Loyal Jones; Warren E Brunner, photographer

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F217.A65 J66 1994


 

 

 

 

Book Cover for Appalachian Reckoning: A Region Responds to "Hillbilly Elegy" by Anthony Harkins and Meredith McCarroll

Appalachian Reckoning: A Region Responds to Hillbilly Elegy/ Anthony Harkins and Meredith McCarroll

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F 210.A58 2019

 

Homeplace Geography:Essays for Appalachia/Donald Edward Davis

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F 217.A65 2006

Book Cover for Seeking Home: Marginalization and Representation in Appalachian Literature and Song

 Seeking Home: Marginalization and Representation in Appalachian Literature and Song/Leslie Harper Worthington and Jurgen Grandt, eds.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 PS286.A6 S44 2016

 

The Glass Castle: a memoir/ by Jeanette Walls

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV5132 .W35 2005

 Search for other titles in   WorldCat Discovery using the  subjects "Appalachian (People)," "Appalachian Region History,"  " Foxfire" and even "Appalachian Trail,"  to obtain a good selection. Related topics include rural life, environmental justice, women and poverty, and race relations. Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

Books on Murder Most Foul: The Solved, the Unsolved, and (some)Resolutions

 

Here are  some  e-book titles about murder and court trials for the crime: victims, families, guilt (actual and perceived), and the crime's presentation in contemporary life and related topics from the library collection:

 Book Cover of KillingWomen:the visual culture of gender and violence

Killing Women:The Visual Culture of Gender and Violence/ Susan Lord and Annette Burfoot

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

     Book Cover Who Killed Betty Gail Brown:: murder, mistrial and mystery

Who Killed Betty Gail Brown?: Murder, Mistrial, and Mystery/ Robert G Lawson

EBSCOHost University Press Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Book Cover for Murder, culture and Injustice: four sensational trials in American history

Murder, Culture and Injustice: Four sensational cases in American History/ Walter L Hixson

 

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Book Cover for Alone Among the Living:a memoir of the Floyd Hoard murder

 

Alone Among the Living: A Memoir of the Floyd Hoard Murder/ G Richard Hoard

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource


 

 

Book Cover of Walking after Midnight: One woman's journey through murder, justice and forgiveness

 Walking After Midnight:One Woman's Journey Through Murder, Justice & Forgiveness/ Katy Hutchinson

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

Search for other titles in WorldCat Discovery using "murder victims," "Trials(murder)"  "mass media and culture" or "Murderers,"  and "True Crime" to obtain a good selection. For more recent titles, limit the search to "Publication Year--Last 5 Years." Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

 

How to Change the World: Tell a Story