1873-Horses were most used
1879-1st train comes direct to Shepherdstown
1910- Young Women's Christian Association members will meet any incoming girl at the Shepherdstown train station and bring them to campus (College catalog)
1913- December Classes will start at 8:45 am in winter to give commuters from outside town to care for their beasts
1924 - College catalog lists the trains and approximate times of arrival at or near Shepherdstown
1931- If a student is at the Shenandoah Junction or Martisnburg train stations, they can call the campus and the "campus car" will be sent to fetch them (college catalog "How to Reach Shepherdstown" section)
1934-Bus service is available at Martinsburg, Hagerstown and Shenandoah Junction to Shepherdstown
1954-The college catalog has a Motor Vehicle registration policy. Students can be denied the privilege of using their vehicles by the Dean of Students
1960-According to the Student Handbook, a Resident Freshman (a non-commuter) could NOT own a car on campus. Shepherd College stickers are provided by the Personnel Office for all registered vehicles on campus--and registration of vehicles was done at start of term
1970- a $3.00 parking fee was assessed per every student who brought their own vehicle to campus. (campus catalog under Finances)
2001-Bus service on campus through Eastern Panhandle Transit Authority
2013- The underpass for pedestrians from East to West Campus is constructed
2023-Campus map shows current parking lots
Many Shepherd students use cars to arrive at Shepherd's campus. Others do not. How do students get to and around campus today if they do not own a car? How did students get to campus before the automobile?
This Fall Term's display titled "Hold Your Horses! Transportation at Shepherd: 1873-2023" explores the methods of getting to (and around) campus from the earliest days to the present.
Display photo taken by Ms. Tara Carlisle
 |
 |
 |
 |
2023 Fall Display Center of Case (photos are in order from the back of the case
Shepherdstown Register Jan 11.1879 page 2
Railroad Crossing sign sticker
Copy of Young Women's Christian Association photo, 1913
1924 College Catalog, trains and times
Model cars "parking issues" (center)
$3.00 on-campus parking fee from 1970
2023 Campus map
Hampshire Review and South Branch Intelligencer Jan 7, 2013-Article on SU underpass
Display title and sources (right side of display)
Photos taken by Ms. Tara Carlisle
Information on transportation to and at Shepherd can be found in diverse places: the college catalogs, the PICKET student newspaper, the student handbooks the campus website (for the most up-to-date information), and the local area newspapers.
The library's Community Reading Room contains the following items related to this display:
Other items found in the Community Reading Room that are Shepherd University related include:
Also check out the Local History shelf in the Community Reading Room; this shelf has books specific to Jefferson County, West Virginia and other local points of interest.
From the back of the display to the front
Horses and wagon
Homecoming Parade pictures, 1950 (automobile)
Page from Student Handbook, 1960
From the back of the case to the front:
Model cars (3), blue
LEGO Bus
SU Picket article from Feb 2014
Pictures of Individuals and Groups Related to Shepherd College
Shepherd College student Handbooks (1951-1972)
Shepherd University Student Handbooks
PICKET (1896-2012) *
*The catalog record only covers a portion of the volumes that are part of these collections; there are other catalog records