APPALACHIAN HERITAGE WRITER-IN RESIDENCE 2022
This research guide provides library resources and extra information concerning topics, themes and genres; the link above provides resources and avenues of study and reflection found by the Appalachian Studies department.
CSEGA: Marshall University's Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Gender in Appalachia
Appalachian Region Commission: government commission on Appalachia
Appalachian Trail Conservancy: home page of the Appalachian Trail
Foxfire.org:the group that creates the Foxfire books
The Dialect of The Appalachian People: online article from West Virginia History
Southern Appalachian English: website from the University of South Carolina on and about Appalachian English; check out the bibliography!
DARE Language Distribution Maps: in color, these are the "regions" of American English as compiled in the Dictionary of American English; here, also is a list of linguistic regions each state is part of.
"Monarch Butterfly Migration and Overwintering" US Forest Service
Christians for the Mountains: A non-profit Christian group that advocates and partners with organizations that promote environmental justice, ethical and sustainable human practices that preserve the region, and stewardship of place as a moral responsibility.
Stereotypes of Appalachia Obscure A Diverse Picture: NPR's Sara Baird on CODESWITCH examines the changing demographics of the region and how stereotypes distort the realities of the area's population.
"Citizen Science in Appalachia": an online article in THE APPALACHIAN VOICE for their December 19, 2018 issue; this article describes what "citizen science" is, how it is performed, and a few projects that rely on such participation to work well.
Listed below is the One Book, One West Virginia finalist selection.
|
2022 Book Selection
Flight Behavior/ Barbara Kingsolver Library General Collection |
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
|
Barbara Kingsolver's website contains information about her published works, readers' guides for each major novel, a section for interviews, videos, and blog posts, and a short biography.
The One Book, One West Virginia program is similar to the Common Reading initiative, only it involves the whole state. Supported by the West Virginia Library Commission, the reading selection is also the book chosen for Shepherd's Appalachian Writer-in-Residence program (paraphrased from their website).
Journals
Begin research on Appalachia with these titles, using the Full Text Journal Listing's title search.
* Contact Archivist and Special Collections librarian, Frances Marshall, for assistance with accessing older physical issues of these journals. Please make inquiries by e-mail at fmarshal@shepherd.edu or by phone (304)876-6337.
For articles focused on populations in rural areas, see the following journals and periodicals:
For articles focused on environment and ecology, see the following journals and periodicals:
Databases
Journals, unfortunately, do not offer easy subject searching; databases do. Below are listed a few of the databases which may provide information for themes and topics in this year's book as well as Appalachian studies.
Academic Search Complete (for general articles on Appalachia)
JSTOR (for general articles on Appalachia)
GreenFILE (EBSCOHost) (for environmental and historic preservation articles)
SocIndex with Full Text (for social issues, group identity, and folkway discussion)
