Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2020

Books on Identity in Appalachia

Class definitions: on the lives and writings of Maxine Hong Kingston, Sandra Cisneros, and Dorothy Allison / Michelle M Tokarczyk

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS228.L33 T65 2008

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

Appalachia Revisited : New Perspectives on Place, Tradition, and Progress / edited by William Schumann and Rebecca Adkins Fletcher.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106.A5775 2016

Books on Substance Abuse and Addiction

Alcohol: the world's favorite drug / Griffith Edwards

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV5035 .E39 2002

Alcohol dependence and addiction / Jeffrey Maars

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Addiction and Responsibility/ edited by Jeffrey Poland and George Graham.

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Books on Mother-Daughter Relationships

The language of love and guilt: mother-daughter relationships from cross-cultural perspective/Ruth Wodak, Muriel Schulz.

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Between voice and silence: women and girls, race and relationship/Jill McLean Taylor, Carol Gilligan, Amy M. Sullivan.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HQ798 .T39 1995

The family silver: essays on relationships among women/Susan Krieger

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Not my daughter/ Barbara Delinsky

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS3554.E4427 N68 2010

Books on Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence

Dangerous exits: escaping abusive relationships in rural America  / Walter S. DeKeseredy and Martin D. Schwartz.

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

The politicization of safety : critical perspectives on domestic violence responses/ Jane K Stoever

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

KF9322 .P65 2019

Mothering through domestic violence/Lorraine Radford and Marianne Hester.

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resourc

 

 

Books on Trauma Recovery

Trauma and life stories: international perspectives/edited by Kim Lacy Rogers, Selma Leydesdorff, and Graham Dawson.

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Supporting women after domestic violence: loss, trauma and recovery/ Hilary Abrahams

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Trauma and Forgiveness: consequences and communities/ C Fred Alford

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

Folk Songs and Sheet Music

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3