Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2021

Books on Identity in Appalachia

Class definitions: on the lives and writings of Maxine Hong Kingston, Sandra Cisneros, and Dorothy Allison / Michelle M Tokarczyk

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS228.L33 T65 2008

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

Appalachia Revisited : New Perspectives on Place, Tradition, and Progress / edited by William Schumann and Rebecca Adkins Fletcher.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106.A5775 2016

Books on Traumas and Trauma Recovery

Bullying in Different Contexts/Claire P Monks, Iain Coyne

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

The Social Outcast:Ostracism, Social Exclusion, Rejection and Bullying/Kipling D Williams, Joseph P Forgas, William von Hippel

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Trauma and Forgiveness: consequences and communities/ C Fred Alford

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Bearing the Unbearable: Trauma, Gospel, and Pastoral Care/Deborah van Deusen Hunsinger

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Books on Women's Familial Relationships

The Dance of Anger: A Woman's Guide to Changing the Pattern of Intimate Relationships/ Harriet Goldher Lerner

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BF575.A5 L47 1985

I only say this because I love you:How the way we talk can make or break family relationships throughout our lives/Deborah Tannen

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HQ734 .T23 2001

The family silver: essays on relationships among women/Susan Krieger

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

On (writing) families: autoethnographies of presence and absence, love and loss/Jonathan Wyatt (Editor), Tony E Adams (Editor)

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Books on Saints, Miracles and the Supernatural

Cult of the Saints: Rise and Function in Latin Christianity/Peter Brown

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BX2333 .B74 1982

Making of Saints: Contesting Sacred Ground  / James F Hopgood

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Golden Legend: Readings on the Saints/Jacobus de Voragine, approximately 1229-1298, (Author), William Granger Ryan 1905-1996, (Translator), Eamon Duffy (Writer of introduction)

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Miracles of Our Lady/Gonzalo de Berceo active 13th century.

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

Supernatural Forces: Belief, Difference and Power in Contemporary Works by Ethnic Women/ Bonnie C Winsbro

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS151 .W46 1993

 

Books on Identity and Social Perception

 

Identity: Youth and Crisis/ Erik H Erikson

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BF697.E7

Stigma: Notes on the Management of Spoiled Identity/Erving Goffman

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BF727.H3 G6

Stigma Revisited: Implications of the Mark/Chris Bruckhart, Stacey Hannem

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

In Media Res: Race, Identity and Pop Culture in the Twenty-First Century/ James Braxton Peterson (Editor)

EBSCOHost Academic Collection. Online eBook. Click on Linked Resource

 

Folk Songs and Sheet Music

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3