Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2018

Books on Appalachia

Appalachia in the classroom: teaching the region / edited by Theresa L. Burriss and Patricia M. Gantt

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106 .A575 2013

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

The Appalachians : America's first and last frontier / edited by Mari-Lynn Evans, Holly George-Warren, and Robert Santelli with Tom Robertson.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106.A59 2004

Along with these, Scarborough Library has several volumes of the popular Foxfire series, which detail the Appalachian region's skills, pastimes, crafts, tales and home truths.

Search for these books in  WorldCat Discovery under the title "Foxfire" to obtain the best results.

Books on Folkways in Appalachia

Our Appalachia : an oral history / edited by Laurel Shackelford and Bill Weinberg ; photos. by Donald R. Anderson

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F217.A65 O97 1977

Appalachian folkways / John B. Rehder.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GR108 .R48 2004

The Foxfire 40th anniversary book : faith, family, and the land / edited by Angie Cheek, Lacy Hunter Nix, and Foxfire students

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F292.R3  F713 2006

Country folk medicine : tales of skunk oil, sassafras tea and other old-time remedies / gathered by Elisabeth Janos.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

GR106 .J36 2004

Books on Trauma and Related Issues

 

Women and madness / by Phyllis Chesler.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

RC451.4.W6 C47 1989

The tender cut : inside the hidden world of self-injury / Patricia A. Adler and Peter Adler.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

RC569.5.S48 A35 2011

Gender and PTSD / edited by Rachel Kimerling, Paige Ouimette, Jessica Wolfe.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

RC552.P67 G46 2002

Critical trauma studies : understanding violence, conflict, and memory in everyday life / edited by Monica J. Casper and Eric Wertheimer.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BF175.5.P75 C75 2016

Folk Songs and Music Scores

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

The great family songbook : a treasury of favorite folk songs, popular tunes, children's melodies, international songs, hymns, holiday jingles, and more : for piano and guitar / [compiled by] Dan Fox and Dick Weissman ; illustrated by Sarah Wilkins.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M1627 .G73 2007

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3