Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2019

Books on Identity in Appalachia

Appalachians and Race: the mountain South from slavery to segregation / edited by John C. Inscoe

E185.912 .A67 2001 

Red, white, black & blue : a dual memoir of race and class in Appalachia / William M. Drennen, Jr. and Kojo (William T.) Jones, Jr.; edited by Dolores M. Johnson.

 F249.C4 D74 2004

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

Appalachia Revisited : New Perspectives on Place, Tradition, and Progress / edited by William Schumann and Rebecca Adkins Fletcher.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106.A5775 2016

Folk Songs and Sheet Music

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3

 

Books on Modern African American Experience

Chocolate cities : the Black map of American life / Marcus Anthony Hunter and Zandria F. Robinson.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E185.H86 2018

A Few Red Drops: the Chicago Race Riot of 1919 / Claire Hartfield

Youth Non-fiction, 3rd floor Youth alcove.

305.896.H32

The African-American century: how Black Americans have shaped our country / Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Cornel West.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E185.96.G38 2002

Sweeter the Juice: A Family Memoir in Black and White/ Shirlee Taylor Haizlip

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E185.96.H175 1995

Color & culture : Black writers and the making of the modern intellectual / Ross Posnock.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS153.N5 P68 1998

Spirit & flame: an anthology of contemporary African American poetry / edited by Keith Gilyard.

Circulating collection, 3rd floor

PS591.N4 S65 1997

Extras