Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : What is the Program?

Past Winners

2020: Dorothy Allison

2019: Crystal Wilkinson

2018: Karen Spears Zacharias

2017: Wiley Cash

2016: Charles Frazier

2015: Nikki Giovanni

2014:Homer Hickam

2013: Frank X Walker

2012: Gretchen Moran Laskas

2011: Ron Rash

2010: Bobbie Ann Mason

2009: Silas House


All past winners  are currently honored by a plaque in the library . If you are interested in locating their works, check  WorldCat Discovery, limiting your search to "Shepherd University," as the library has at least one copy (and sometimes more) of these writers' works.


The Program

"The Appalachian Heritage Writer's Award and Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence Project were developed by the Department of English at Shepherd University in 1998 to celebrate and honor the work of a distinguished contemporary Appalachian writer." --description from project's website

Shepherd University Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence.

 Event Schedule


The Anthology

More works of Appalachian writers (poetry, fiction, essay, memoir, etcetera) can be found in the Anthology of Appalachian Writers, a publication created as part of the Writer-in-Residence program and the Appalachian Studies program.