Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : Writer-in-Residence 2022

AHWIR

APPALACHIAN HERITAGE WRITER-IN RESIDENCE 2022

This research guide provides library resources and extra information concerning topics, themes and genres; the link above provides resources and avenues of study and reflection found by the Appalachian Studies department.

Meet the Author

Barbara Kingsolver's website contains information about her published works, readers' guides for each major novel, a section for interviews, videos, and blog posts, and a short biography.

One Book, One West Virginia

One Book, One West Virginia is the like Common Reading initiative for the whole state. Supported by the West Virginia Library Commission, the reading selection is also the book chosen for Shepherd's Appalachian Writer-in-Residence program (paraphrased from their website).

The Work of Marie Manilla

Listed below is the One Book, One West Virginia finalist selection.

   2022 Book Selection

cover of Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

Flight Behavior/ Barbara Kingsolver

Library General Collection

PS3561.I496 F55 2013

    Author: Barbara Kingsolver

 

Barbara_Kingsolver_photograph_from_Appalachian_Heritage_Writer_in_Residence_2022_website

AHWIR EVENTS SCHEDULE

 

Other works by this author include:

The Poisonwood Bible / Barbara Kingsolver

Library General Collection

PS3561.I496 P65 1998

 

The Lacuna / Barbara Kingsolver

Library General Collection

PS3561.I496 L33 2009

 

Additionally, she has published non-fiction works; the one Shepherd University has in its collection is

Animal. Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life

Library General Collection

S521.5 A67 K56 2008

Currently, the library's copies of these three works are, as noted, in the general collection which is up on the 3rd floor.

 

Other titles related to the author's primary themes or subject matter can be located in WorldCat Discovery using the subjects "social change," "Identity(Psychological)," " "culture clash," "Country life" and related subjects. Limit your initial search to "Shepherd University" to find items located at the library.

TEDx|East Van "Quantum Physics for 7 Year Olds" Dominic Walliman

Flight Behavior is a book in which scientific communication is important--and is made comprehensible to the reader as much as the main character. However, much of science is not made understandable to the general public. In the TEDTalk below, physicist  Dominic Walliman gives guidance on how to explain scientific concepts to those who are not formal scientists. This talk was posted on May 24, 2016 and has a transcript available under the ". . ." tab.