Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2017

Books on Appalachia

Appalachia in the classroom: teaching the region / edited by Theresa L. Burriss and Patricia M. Gantt

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106 .A575 2013

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

The Appalachians : America's first and last frontier / edited by Mari-Lynn Evans, Holly George-Warren, and Robert Santelli with Tom Robertson.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106.A59 2004

Along with these, Scarborough Library has several volumes of the popular Foxfire series, which detail the Appalachian region's skills, pastimes, crafts, tales and home truths.

Search for these books in WorldCat Discovery under the title "Foxfire"  and limit to "Shepherd University" to obtain the best results.

Books on Religion in Appalachia

Religion in Appalachia: theological, social and psychological dimensions and correlates / edited by John D. Photiadis

3rd floor, Range 31

BR535.R45

Foxfire 7 : ministers, church members, revivals, baptisms, shaped-note and gospel signing, faith healing, camp meetings, foot washing, snake handling, and other traditions of mountain religious heritage / edited with an introduction by Paul F. Gillespie

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BR563.M68 F69 1982

The Foxfire 40th anniversary book : faith, family, and the land / edited by Angie Cheek, Lacy Hunter Nix, and Foxfire students

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F292.R3  F713 2006

Life and religion in Southern Appalachia, an interpretation of selected data from the Southern Appalachian studies/by W.D. Weatherford and Earl D.C. Brewer

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F210.W29

Shenandoah religion : outsiders and the mainstream, 1716-1865 / Stephen L. Longenecker

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

BR555.V8 L66 2002

Books on Autism and Related Disorders

The autistic brain : thinking across the spectrum / Temple Grandin and Richard Panek

Circulating Collection,3rd floor

RC553.A88 G725 2013

A parent's guide to asperger syndrome and high-functioning autism : how to meet the challenges and help your child thrive / Sally Ozonoff, Geraldine Dawson, James McPartland.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

RJ506.A9 O98 2002

Developmental disabilities and child welfare / Ronald C. Hughes and Judith S. Rycus

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

HV894.H84 1998

 

Folk Songs and Music Scores

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

The great family songbook : a treasury of favorite folk songs, popular tunes, children's melodies, international songs, hymns, holiday jingles, and more : for piano and guitar / [compiled by] Dan Fox and Dick Weissman ; illustrated by Sarah Wilkins.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M1627 .G73 2007

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3