Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2016

Books on Appalachia

Appalachia in the classroom: teaching the region / edited by Theresa L. Burriss and Patricia M. Gantt

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106 .A575 2013

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

 

Along with these, Scarborough Library has several volumes of the popular Foxfire series, which detail the Appalachian region's skills, pastimes, crafts, tales and home truths.

Search for these books in WorldCat Discovery under the title "Foxfire" to obtain the best results. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to obtain results held at this library.

American Civil War: Local Connections

Antietam, South Mountain, and Harpers Ferry: a battlefield guide/Ethan S. Rafuse ; cartography by Christopher L. Brest.

Scarborough Library Community Reading Room--Rotating Collection

E474.65 R34 2008

Antietam: the photographic legacy of America's bloodiest day/William A. Frassanito.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E474.65.F7

Shepherdstown: last clash of the Antietam Campaign, September 19-20 1862/by Thomas A. McGrath ; foreward by Thomas Clemens ; preface by Patrick A. Schroeder.

Scarborough Library Special Collections--West Virginia Collection. Retrieved by staff.

E474.65.A58 M4 2007

Six years of hell: Harpers Ferry during the Civil War/ Chester G Hearn

Scarborough Library Special Collection--West Virginia Collection. Retrieved by staff.

F249.H2 H47 1996

Lee's terrible swift sword : from Antietam to Chancellorsville : an eyewitness history / Richard Wheeler.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E470.2 .W47 1992

The West Point atlas of the Civil War. Chief editor: Vincent J. Esposito.

Atlas Collection Main Floor Reference Shelf

G1201.S5 U58 1962

Books on the Cherokee Nation

The Cherokee Nation in the Civil War / Clarissa W Confer.

Circulating Collection,3rd floor

E99.C5 C713 2007

Cherokee women in crisis: Trail of Tears, Civil War and allotment, 1838-1907 / Carolyn Johnston

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

 E99.C5 J615 2003

The Cherokees past and present: an authentic guide to the Cherokee people / Ed J Sharpe

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E99.C5 S45 1991

Folk Songs and Music Scores

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

The great family songbook : a treasury of favorite folk songs, popular tunes, children's melodies, international songs, hymns, holiday jingles, and more : for piano and guitar / [compiled by] Dan Fox and Dick Weissman ; illustrated by Sarah Wilkins.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M1627 .G73 2007

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

Scarborough Library Special Collection--West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3