Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence : In Our Collection 2015

Books on Appalachia

Appalachia in the classroom: teaching the region / edited by Theresa L. Burriss and Patricia M. Gantt

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

F106 .A575 2013

Talking Appalachian: voice, identity, and community / edited by Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PE2970.A6 T35 2013

 

Along with these, Scarborough Library has several volumes of the popular Foxfire series, which detail the Appalachian region's skills, pastimes, crafts, tales and home truths.

Search for these books in WorldCat Discovery under the title "Foxfire" to obtain the best results. Limit your search to "Shepherd University" to obtain results held at this library.

Books on the African-American Experience

A call to conscience: the landmark speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. / edited by Clayborne Carson and Kris Shepard.

Audiobook Collection, in CD racks by Public Services Desk

E185.97.K5 C35 2004

Red, white, black & blue : a dual memoir of race and class in Appalachia / William M. Drennen, Jr. and Kojo (William T.) Jones, Jr.; edited by Dolores M. Johnson.

 F249.C4 D74 2004

African-Americans and other myths : confusing racism with cultural diversity / by Kenneth Brooks.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

E185.625 .B756 1994

Spirit & flame : an anthology of contemporary African American poetry / edited by Keith Gilyard.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS591.N4 S65 1997

From Spirituals to Modern Rap

The long road to freedom : an anthology of Black music.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

ML3556.L66 2001

African American jazz and rap : social and philosophical examinations of Black expressive behavior / edited by James L. Conyers, Jr. ; introduction by James B. Stewart.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

ML3508 .A47 2001

Black Orpheus : music in African American fiction from the Harlem Renaissance to Toni Morrison / edited by Saadi A. Simawe.

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

PS374.N4 B59 2000

Folk Songs and Music Scores

For those interested in folk songs or the use of Appalachian instruments in performance, here is a selection of volumes containing music scores.

Glow ree bee: Traditional Black spirituals arranged for unchanged voices and Orff instruments/ Shirley W McRae

Circulating Collection, 3rd floor

M2198.M33 G56

Angel at the door: Southern folksongs : voices and Orff instruments / Shirley W. McRae

Oversize book in Quarto Collection, 3rd floor

 MT810.M35 A5

Ballads, folk songs & folk tales from West Virginia.

Musick, Ruth Ann.

West Virginia Collection. Library use. Retrieved by staff

M1629.M966 B3