Skip to Main Content

Newspapers: West Virginia Newspapers

Helpful Tip

Please ask a librarian or library staff member to retrieve the following items for you:

  • Items that are listed in storage, whether compact storage or 3rd floor storage.
  • West Virginia Archive (Rm 310) materials
  • Shepherd Archive materials

West Virginia Archive  and Shepherd Archive materials must be requested and used in the Archive Reading Room. Please contact Ms. Frances Marshall, the Special Collections Librarian, to set up an appointment to view any papers located in either space.

Some newspapers are not hyperlinked. Please consult Helpful Tip 2 for the major reason for not direct linking to a record.

Off-campus access to newspapers within databases (Nexis Uni, EBSCOHost, or ProQuest) is limited to Shepherd University students, faculty and staff. Direct links to newspapers within the databases are not provided, except for the New York Times Historical Newspaper.

Current Daily Newspaper Status

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many of the current daily print newspapers Shepherd University had access to were and remain suspended.

Below is an example of the status of a suspended subscription.

 

Mineral Daily News and Keyser Tribune (Keyser—Mineral Co.)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

 

Updates on whether subscriptions for daily papers are resumed will be provided when information can be confirmed.

West Virginia Newspapers: Berkeley Republican to Martinsburg W Va Evening Journal

Berkeley Republican

July 1, 1892

  • Located on second reel of Morgan Mercury

Berkeley Springs News

March 27, 1885- 1912; 1942;1946;

1950-51; 1961-2;1967-Nov 8, 1968

Berkeley Union (Martinsburg WV) See also: Martinsburg Independent; Martinsburg Weekly Independent

1868 (holdings incomplete)

Central State News (Bellington-Barbour County)?

April 17, 1930-April 22, 1943

Charleston Daily Mail (Charleston-Kanawha Co)?

1977-2001

Charleston Gazette (Charleston-Kanawha Co)

Oct 1964-2013 (Compact Storage); 2017 (current two months in Reading Room

Online Full Text Access

1994- present: Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)

Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling-Ohio Co) See also Wheeling Daily Intelligencer

Nov 12, 1859-June 24, 1865

  • Nov 12, 1859-Dec 1859 (on same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer July-Dec 1859)
  • Jan-June 24, 1865 is on same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer June 26-30, 1865

Evening Journal (Martinsburg—Berkeley Co.) See also: Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal; Morning Journal

May-Oct 1912; 1978-Aug 3, 1990

1907

1978

Farmers Advocate (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Spirit of Jefferson; Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate

1897-1930; Oct 25, 1935-1943; 1945-Oct 3, 1947

Gerardstown [Gerrardstown ]Times (Berkeley Co.)

Jan 28, 1898- Dec 22, 1905

Good News Paper (Shepherdstown—Jefferson Co.)

1979-20xx Shepherd Archive

Grant County Press (Petersburg—Grant County)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Online Full Text Access

Feb 3, 2009-present: Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)

Greenbrier County Newspapers See also: Greenbrier Independent; Lewisburg Chronicle; Lewisburg Times; Lewisburg Weekly Times; Tocsin of Reform; Valley Messenger; Western Era

1851-1892 (holdings incomplete)  

This reel is NOT a newspaper; it is a single-reel repository for all the papers named in the “See Also” list.

Greenbrier Independent (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 31, 1867-May 9, 1874 (scattered issues); some issues are on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Hampshire Review (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer; Review (Romney)

May 22, 1884-March 25, 1903; Dec 29, 1920-July 1952

1884

1920

Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review; Review; South Branch Intelligencer

Aug 1952-June 1972; Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Hardy County News (Moorefield, WV)

April 30, 1897-Dec 11, 1902; April 28, 1932-April 16, 1942

1897

1929

Independent (Shepherdstown—Jefferson Co.)

1934-1958

Journal (Martinsburg—Berkeley Co.) See also: Evening Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Morning Journal

1993-March 2017; Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Lewisburg Chronicle (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Jan 19-June 1, 1861

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Lewisburg Times (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

March 22, 1866-May 25, 1867

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Lewisburg Weekly Times (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Jan 13, 1866

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Martinsburg Gazette (Berkeley Co.) See also: Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser; Martinsburgh Gazette

Oct 17, 1833-March 7, 1855 (holdings incomplete)

  • Oct 17, 1833-Dec 24, 1834 located on same reel as Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser Jan 5, 1832-Oct 10,1833

Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser See also: Martinsburg Gazette; Martinsburgh Gazette

Jan 1826-Oct 10, 1833

  • Jan 5, 1832-Oct 10, 1833 are on same reel as Martinsburg Gazette Oct 17, 1833-Dec 25, 1834

Martinsburgh Gazette (Berkeley Co.) See also: Martinsburg Gazette; Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser

1810-1822 (holdings incomplete); 1823-1825

Martinsburg Herald

1881-1913 (holdings incomplete)

Martinsburg Independent See also: Martinsburg Weekly Independent (1874-1876); Berkeley Union

1875-April 3, 1899

Martinsburg Journal (Martinsburg--Berkeley Co.) See also: Evening Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal; Journal; Morning Journal

1921-1929; 1932-1977

Martinsburg Statesman See also: Martinsburg Statesman-Democrat

1874-Sept 14, 1906

  • Jan 5-Sept 14, 1906 located on same reel as Martinsburg Statesman-Democrat Sept 21-Dec 1906

Martinsburg Statesman-Democrat  See also: Martinsburg Statesman

Sept 21-Dec 1906; 1908-1913

  •  Sept 21-Dec 1906 located on same reel as Martinsburg Statesman Jan 5-Sept 14, 1906

Martinsburg Weekly Independent See also: Martinsburg Independent;Berkeley Union

Jan 1874-March 27, 1875

Martinsburg W Va Evening Journal See also: Evening Journal; Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Morning Journal; Journal

Feb.1916-April 1920

 

 

West Virginia Newspapers Mineral Daily News to World

Mineral Daily News and Keyser Tribune (Keyser—Mineral Co.)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Moorefield Examiner (WV) See also: Weekly Examiner; Moorefield Examiner and Hardy County News

Aug 8, 1907-1936;1940-Mar 13, 1957

  • Aug 8, 1907-Dec 19, 1907 located on same reel as Weekly Examiner (Moorefield)

Moorefield Examiner and Hardy County News (WV) See also: Moorefield Examiner; Weekly Examiner

Mar 20, 1957- 1972; Current month (Reading Room)

Morgan Mercury (Berkeley Springs—Morgan Co.) See also: Morgan Messenger

1882-1893 (holdings incomplete)

  • Berkeley Republican July 1, 1892 is on the second reel of Morgan Mercury paper.

Morgan Messenger (Berkeley Springs—Morgan Co.) See also: Morgan Mercury

1893-1975 (holdings incomplete); Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Morning Journal (Martinsburg--Berkeley Co.) See also: Evening Journal; Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal

Aug. 4, 1990-Jan. 1, 1993

National Telegraph (Clarksburg—Harrison Co.) See also: Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg)

Jan 3-Dec 5, 1862

  • Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg) on same reel

Picket (Shepherd College/University)

Jan 30, 1896-1994 (Microfilm)

Shepherd College Collection (Shepherd Archive)

Jan 30, 1896-April 2015

Full Text Online Access

1896-2000

Shepherd Picket Archive

Post (Berkeley Springs—Morgan Co.)

Feb 14, 1907-Jan 4, 1917

Review (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review; Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer

April 1903-Dec 22, 1920

Shepherdstown Chronicle (Jefferson Co.)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

West Virginia Archive (Room 310)

March 1994-2016?

Shepherdstown Register (Jefferson Co.)

1849-Oct 1860; July 15, 1865-Dec 22, 1955

Online Full Text Access

1849-1922 Library of Congress: Chronicling America https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84026824/

South Branch Intelligencer (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer

1866-1896

Spirit of Jefferson (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Farmers’ Advocate; Spirit of Jefferson Farmers’ Advocate

1852-1948 (except Sept 12-to Dec 26, 1871)

Notes for this paper’s run:

  • On reel Jan 6, 1874-Dec 26, 1876, only 1875 is  listed as complete.
  • Jan 1, 1907-Sept 7, 1909 issues were badly damaged prior to being filmed
  • Jun 27, 1916 is on reel Jan 7, 1913-Dec 29, 1914 (placed after May 26, 1914)
  • Jan 7-Feb 25, 1948 are on same reel as Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate Mar 4-Dec 31, 1948

Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Farmers Advocate; Spirit of Jefferson

March 1948-June 1984; 1985-2003; Renewed subscription--Current year (Reading Room)

  • Back issues are in West Virginia Archive (Rm 310)
  • March 4-Dec 31, 1948 located on same reel as Spirit of Jefferson Jan 7-Feb 25, 1948
  • June 25, Oct 22, and Dec 24, 1959 are not available.  

Student Christian (Shepherdstown—Shepherd College)

Shepherd College Collection (Shepherd Archive)

Fall 1966-May 1967 

Tocsin of Reform (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 1, 1854

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Valley Messenger (Ronceverte—Greenbrier Co.)

April 27, 1892

  • On reel labeled Greenbrier County Newspapers

Virginia Free Press (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.)

Jan 10, 1856-June 13, 1861; Aug 24, 1865-Sept 9, 1896

Weekly Examiner (Moorefield—Hardy Co.) See also: Moorefield Examiner; Moorefield Examiner and Hardy County News

Nov 27, 1902; Jan 1903-Aug 1, 1907

  • Jan 1903-Aug 1, 1907 on same reel as Moorefield Examiner Aug 8-Dec 19, 1907

Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg—Harrison Co.) See also: National Telegraph (Clarksburg)

May 27, 1864-Dec 8, 1865; 1868

  • Located on National Telegraph (Clarksburg) reel

Weekly Register (Point Pleasant—Upshur Co.)

Mar 6, 1862-1869

Wellsburg Herald (Wellsburg—Brooke Co.)

1858-Jan 1861; 1862-1865

Western Era (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 29, 1851-Aug 17, 1853

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

West Virginia Hillbilly (Richwood, WV)

Nov 3, 1956-Oct 26, 1957; Dec 7, 1959-Dec 8, 1984; 1986-1991

1956

1986

  • Several reels are marked partially faded

Wheeling Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling—Ohio Co.) See also: Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling)

1858-Nov 11, 1859;Jun 26-Dec 1865

1852

1865

  • Daily Intelligencer Nov 12-Dec 1859 is located on the same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer July-Nov 11, 1859
  •  Wheeling Daily Intelligencer June 26- Dec 1865 is located on same reel as Daily Intelligencer Jan-Jun 24, 1865.

Wheeling Daily Register

Jan 22, 1877

  • Located in West Virginia Archive (Rm 31

World (Martinsburg—Berkeley Co.)

Aug 31, 1891-Sept 23, 1893

Lists of Digitized West Virginia Newspapers

West Virginia University (WVU) has created a list of state newspapers they have digitized, most of them for the Library of Congress's "Chronicling America" digital newspapers collection.

The list of titles on the WVU site has individual links to the scanned papers while this box's "Chronicling America" link  will give access to the titles of all ninety-five currently digitized West Virginia newspapers at the Library of Congress.

Scarborough Library | Shepherd University
© 2020 Scarborough Library | 301 N. King Street | P.O. Box 5001 | Shepherdstown, WV 25443 | Phone: 304.876.5421 | Fax: 304.876.0731