Skip to Main Content

Newspapers: Civil War Era Newspapers

Civil War Era Newspapers

Below is a list of all the Civil War era newspapers Shepherd Library owns or has access to through a database. Newspapers on this list may be from the period either just before or just after the war (Civil War 1861-1865) to cover the entire era. Where possible, full text links have been provided.

Some newspapers are not hyperlinked. Please consult Helpful Tip 2 for the major reason for not direct linking to a record.

Note: Off-campus access to newspapers within databases (Nexis Uni, EBSCOHost, or ProQuest) is limited to Shepherd University students, faculty and staff. Direct links to newspapers within the databases are not provided, except for the New York Times Historical Newspaper and now the Washington Post.

 

Berkely Union to Greenbrier Independent

Berkeley Union (Martinsburg WV) See also: Martinsburg Independent; Martinsburg Weekly Independent

1868 (holdings incomplete)

Carolina Spartan (Spartanburg, SC)

Jan 14-1858-59; Jan 11-Nov 7, 1861;

Dec 19, 1861-Dec 4, 1864

Cavalier (Williamsburg, VA)

June 25, 1862- April 17, 1864

  • Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Charleston Daily Courier (Charleston, SC)

Nov 12, 1856-Sept 19, 1866

Charleston Mercury (Charleston, SC)

1860-1866

Daily Dispatch (Richmond, VA)

1858-1866

Online Full Text Access

1850-1884: Library of Congress: Chronicling America https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024738/

Daily Free Trader (Natchez, MS) See also Natchez Daily Free Trader (1858-1860)

Feb 2-6, 1858

  • Natchez Daily Free Trader (1858-1860) on same reel.

Daily Herald (Wilmington, NC) See also Wilmington Herald (1857-1858)

May 10, 1859-July 16, 1860

Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling-Ohio Co) See also Wheeling Daily Intelligencer

Nov 12, 1859-June 24, 1865

  • Nov 12, 1859-Dec 1859 (on same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer July-Dec 1859)
  • Jan-June 24, 1865 is on same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer June 26-30, 1865

Daily Lynchburg Virginian (VA) See also: Lynchburg Daily Virginian (1858-61; 1863; 1865-66) Lynchburg Virginian; and Lynchburg Virginian (Tri-Weekly)

Aug 22, 1861-April 13, 1863

  • August 7, 1862-April 13, 1863 (on same reel as Lynchburg Daily Virginian April 17-July 31, 1863
  • May 16-Aug 31, 1865 (on same reel as Lynchburg Virginian Aug 1, 1864- March 24, 1865)

Daily Memphis Avalanche (TN) See also: Memphis Daily Avalanche (1861-62; 1866)

March 6-Nov 2, 1866

Daily Picayune (New Orleans, LA)

Dec 15, 1857-March 2, 1866

Daily Richmond Whig See also: Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig & Advertiser; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

Sept 5, 1861-May 14, 1862; May 1-Dec 1865

1861

1865

  • Sept 5, 1861-Dec 1861 (on same reel as Richmond Daily Whig July-Sept 4, 1861
  • Jan-May 14, 1862 (on same reel as Richmond Whig May 15-Dec 1862
  • May 1-Dec 1865 (on same reel as Richmond Whig Jan-Apr 29, 1865

Edgefield Advertiser (SC)

Oct 15, 1856-April 22, 1868

Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper; Leslie’s; Leslie’s Weekly

Dec 15, 1855-Nov 28, 1891

Gate-City Guardian (Atlanta, GA)

Feb 12-March 2, 1861

Greenbrier County Newspapers See also: Greenbrier Independent; Lewisburg Chronicle; Lewisburg Times; Lewisburg Weekly Times; Tocsin of Reform; Valley Messenger; Western Era

1851-1892 (holdings incomplete)  

This reel is NOT a newspaper; it is a single-reel repository for all the papers named in the “See Also” list.

Greenbrier Independent (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 31, 1867-May 9, 1874 (scattered issues); some issues are on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Virginia Free Press to Virginia Gazette

Virginia Free Press (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.)

Jan 10, 1856-June 13, 1861; Aug 24, 1865-Sept 9, 1896

Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, VA)

Sept 3, 1736-Dec 9, 1790; Aug 24, 1853-Oct 18, 1855; Feb 18-July 1, 1869; May 20-Oct 13, 1893

1736

1853

1869

1893

  • Issues of Virginia Gazette from Feb 18-July 1, 1869; May 20-Oct 13, 1893 are listed on other side of box.

Full Text Online Access

2009-2017 Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOHost)

Also on reel Virginia Gazette (1853) are the following  Williamsburg newspapers:

  • Cavalier
  • Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Williamsburg advertiser
  • Virginia gazette, Baltimore, Richmond  and Norfolk advertiser
  • Williamsburg weekly gazette
  • Williamsburg weekly gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore advertiser
  • Weekly gazette and Eastern Virginia advertiser

Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond and Norfolk Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette; Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Williamsburg Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Baltimore Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser

Mar 18, 1856-Apr 3, 1856

Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Williamsburg Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond and Norfolk Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Baltimore Advertiser; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser

Oct 25, 1855-Mar 13, 1856

Lewisburg Chronicle to Natchez Daily Courier

Lewisburg Chronicle (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Jan 19-June 1, 1861

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Lewisburg Times (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

March 22, 1866-May 25, 1867

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Lewisburg Weekly Times (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Jan 13, 1866

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Liberator (Boston, MA)

1831-1865

Lynchburg Daily Virginian (VA) See also: Daily Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian (Tri-weekly)

Aug 3, 1858-Jun 15, 1859;Aug 4, 1859-July 1861 (holdings incomplete); April 17, 1863-Nov 9, 1863; Sept 1865-Aug 1866

1852

1863

1865

  • April 17-July 31, 1863 on same reel as Daily Lynchburg Virginian Aug 7, 1862-April 13, 1863
  • Aug 1, 1863-Nov 9, 1863 on same reel as Lynchburg Virginian Nov 10, 1863-July 29, 1864)                 

Lynchburg Virginian (VA) See also: Daily Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Daily Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian (Tri-weekly)

Nov 10, 1863-Mar 24, 1865

  • Nov 10, 1863-July 29, 1864 (on same reel as Lynchburg Daily Virginian Aug 1, 1863-Nov 9, 1863)
  • Aug 1, 1864-Mar 24, 1865 (on same reel as Daily Lynchburg Virginian May 16, 1865-Aug 31, 1865)

Lynchburg Virginian (Triweekly) See also: Daily Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Daily Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian

Aug 3, 1857-Aug 1, 1859

Martinsburg Gazette (Berkeley Co.) See also: Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser; Martinsburgh Gazette

Oct 17, 1833-March 7, 1855 (holdings incomplete)

  • Oct 17, 1833-Dec 24, 1834 located on same reel as Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser Jan 5, 1832-Oct 10,1833

Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser See also: Martinsburg Gazette; Martinsburgh Gazette

Jan 1826-Oct 10, 1833

  • Jan 5, 1832-Oct 10, 1833 are on same reel as Martinsburg Gazette Oct 17, 1833-Dec 25, 1834

Martinsburgh Gazette (Berkeley Co.) See also: Martinsburg Gazette; Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser

1810-1822 (holdings incomplete); 1823-1825

Memphis Bulletin (TN)

July 4, 1862-May 24, 1863

Memphis Daily Appeal (TN)

1857-1866 (holdings incomplete)

Memphis Daily Avalanche (TN) See also: Daily Memphis Avalanche

1861-1862(holdings incomplete); Jan-March 4, 1866

Memphis Weekly Appeal (TN)

1858; Dec 21, 1859-Dec 5, 1860

Mobile Advertiser and Register (AL)

June 7-Oct 31, 1861; Jan 18, 1862- June 6, 1863

Mobile Daily Advertiser and Register (AL)

June 9, 1863-May 26, 1864

Mobile Daily Register (AL)

Feb 17, 1859-June 29, 1860

Natchez Daily Courier (MS)

Oct 1857-Sept 1860

Weekly Gazette to Wheeling Daily Intelligencer

Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Williamsburg Advertiser; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond, and Norfolk advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Virginia Gazette

1859-1860 (scattered issues)

  • Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg—Harrison Co.) See also: National Telegraph (Clarksburg)

May 27, 1864-Dec 8, 1865; 1868

  • Located on National Telegraph (Clarksburg) reel

Weekly Register (Point Pleasant—Upshur Co.)

Mar 6, 1862-1869

Wellsburg Herald (Wellsburg—Brooke Co.)

1858-Jan 1861; 1862-1865

Western Era (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 29, 1851-Aug 17, 1853

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Wheeling Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling—Ohio Co.) See also: Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling)

1858-Nov 11, 1859;Jun 26-Dec 1865

1852

1865

  • Daily Intelligencer Nov 12-Dec 1859 is located on the same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer July-Nov 11, 1859
  •  Wheeling Daily Intelligencer June 26- Dec 1865 is located on same reel as Daily Intelligencer Jan-Jun 24, 1865.

Natchez Daily Free Trader to Tocsin of Reform

Natchez Daily Free Trader (MS) See also: Daily Free Trader (Natchez,MS)

Feb 1859- Sept 28, 1860

  • Located on Daily Free Trader (Natchez, MS) reel

National Telegraph (Clarksburg—Harrison Co.) See also: Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg)

Jan 3-Dec 5, 1862

Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg) on same reel

New Orleans Bee (LA)

1858-1865

Online Full Text Access

Sept 1827-Dec 1923: Jefferson Parish Library http://nobee.jplibrary.net/index.htm

New Orleans Commercial Bulletin (LA)

1858-June 1862

New York Daily Times (NY) See also: New York Times

Full Text Online Access

1851-1857: The New York Times:Proquest Historical Newspapers

New York Times (NY)

Jan 2008-Dec 2011 (Compact storage); Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Full Text Online Access

1851-2017: The New York Times:Proquest Historical Newspapers

Religious Herald (Richmond, VA)

1858-March 1867

Richmond Daily Whig (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig & Advertiser; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

1860-Sept 4, 1861

  • July-Sept 4, 1861 located on same reel as Daily Richmond Whig Sept 5-Dec 1861

Richmond Enquirer (VA)

1861-1862

Richmond Whig (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig & Advertiser; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

May 15, 1862-April 1865

  • May 15, 1862-Dec 1862 (on same reel as Daily Richmond Whig Jan-May 14, 1862)
  • Jan-April 1865 (on same reel as Daily Richmond Whig May 1-Dec 1865)

Richmond Whig and Advertiser (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

 Jan 3, 1868-Jan 5, 1869

  • Jan 3, 1868-Jan 5, 1869 on same reel as Richmond Whig and Public Advertiser Jan 24, 1865-Dec 27, 1867

Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig and Advertiser

1857- June 11, 1861; Jan 24, 1865-Dec 27, 1867

  • Jan 24, 1865-Dec 27, 1867 (located on same reel as Richmond Whig and Advertiser Jan 3, 1868-Jan 5, 1869

Sentinel (Richmond, VA)

May 11, 1863-Dec 5, 1865

Shepherdstown Register (Jefferson Co.)

1849-Oct 1860; July 15, 1865-Dec 22, 1955

Online Full Text Access

1849-1922 Library of Congress: Chronicling America https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84026824/

South Branch Intelligencer (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer

1866-1896

Southern Churchman (Richmond VA)

Nov 22, 1861-Mar 8, 1865

Southern Confederacy (GA)

March 1861-May 23, 1863; Nov 24, 1864-Feb 8, 1865

Spirit of Jefferson (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Farmers’ Advocate; Spirit of Jefferson Farmers’ Advocate

1852-1948 (except Sept 12-to Dec 26, 1871)

Notes for this paper’s run:

  • On reel Jan 6, 1874-Dec 26, 1876, only 1875 is  listed as complete
  • Jan 1, 1907-Sept 7, 1909 issues were badly damaged prior to being filmed
  • Jun 27, 1916 is on reel Jan 7, 1913-Dec 29, 1914 (placed after May 26, 1914)
  • Jan 7-Feb 25, 1948 are on same reel as Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate Mar 4-Dec 31, 1948

Tocsin of Reform (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 1, 1854

  • Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Williamsburg Weekly Gazette to Yorkville Enquirer

Williamsburg Weekly Gazette See also: Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Williamsburg Advertiser; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond, and Norfolk Advertiser; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore Advertiser; Virginia Gazette

April 17, 1856-Aug 11, 1858

  • Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Williamsburg Advertiser; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond, and Norfolk Advertiser; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Virginia Gazette

April 10, 1856

  • Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Wilmington Herald (Wilmington, NC) See also: Daily Herald (Wilmington, NC)

April 9, 1857-April 29, 1858

Wilmington Journal (Wilmington, NC)

1860-Feb 20, 1865; Sept 28, 1865-July 14, 1866

Yorkville Enquirer (York, SC)

1856-1866

Scarborough Library | Shepherd University
© 2020 Scarborough Library | 301 N. King Street | P.O. Box 5001 | Shepherdstown, WV 25443 | Phone: 304.876.5421 | Fax: 304.876.0731