Newspapers: Newspapers Master List

Please ask a librarian or library staff member to retrieve the following items for you:

• Items that are listed in storage, whether compact storage or 3rd floor storage.
• West Virginia Archive (Rm 310) materials
• Shepherd University Archive materials

West Virginia Archive  and Shepherd Archive materials must be requested and used in the Archive Reading Room. Please contact Ms. Frances Marshall, the Special Collections Librarian, to set up an appointment to view any papers located in either space.

              

Off-campus access to newspapers within databases (Lexis-Nexis, EBSCOHost, or ProQuest) is limited to Shepherd University students, faculty and staff. Direct links to newspapers within the databases are not provided, except for the New York Times Historical Newspaper and now the Washington Post.

Berkeley Republican

July 1, 1892

• Located on second reel of Morgan Mercury

Berkeley Springs News

March 27, 1885- 1912; 1942;1946;

1950-51; 1961-2;1967-Nov 8, 1968

Berkeley Union (Martinsburg WV) See also: Martinsburg Independent; Martinsburg Weekly Independent

1868 (holdings incomplete)

Carolina Spartan (Spartanburg, SC)

Jan 14-1858-59; Jan 11-Nov 7, 1861;

Dec 19, 1861-Dec 4, 1864

Cavalier (Williamsburg, VA)

June 25, 1862- April 17, 1864

• Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Central State News (Bellington-Barbour County)?

April 17, 1930-April 22, 1943

Charleston Daily Courier (Charleston, SC)

Nov 12, 1856-Sept 19, 1866

Charleston Daily Mail (Charleston-Kanawha Co)?

1977-2001

Charleston Gazette (Charleston-Kanawha Co)

Oct 1964-2013 (Compact Storage); 2017 Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Online Full Text Access

1994- present: Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)

Charleston Mercury (Charleston, SC)

1860-1866

Christian Science Monitor

1960- Oct 3, 2008 (Compact Storage)

Online Full Text Access

1980-present: Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic

Daily Dispatch (Richmond, VA)

1858-1866

Online Full Text Access

1850-1884: Library of Congress: Chronicling America https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024738/

Daily Free Trader (Natchez, MS) See also Natchez Daily Free Trader (1858-1860)

Feb 2-6, 1858

• Natchez Daily Free Trader (1858-1860) on same reel.

Daily Herald (Wilmington, NC) See also Wilmington Herald (1857-1858)

May 10, 1859-July 16, 1860

Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling-Ohio Co) See also Wheeling Daily Intelligencer

Nov 12, 1859-June 24, 1865

• Nov 12, 1859-Dec 1859 (on same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer July-Dec 1859)
• Jan-June 24, 1865 is on same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer June 26-30, 1865

Daily Lynchburg Virginian (VA) See also: Lynchburg Daily Virginian (1858-61; 1863; 1865-66) Lynchburg Virginian; and Lynchburg Virginian (Tri-Weekly)

Aug 22, 1861-April 13, 1863

• August 7, 1862-April 13, 1863 (on same reel as Lynchburg Daily Virginian April 17-July 31, 1863
• May 16-Aug 31, 1865 (on same reel as Lynchburg Virginian Aug 1, 1864- March 24, 1865)

Daily Memphis Avalanche (TN) See also: Memphis Daily Avalanche (1861-62; 1866)

March 6-Nov 2, 1866

Daily Picayune (New Orleans, LA)

Dec 15, 1857-March 2, 1866

Daily Richmond Whig See also: Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig & Advertiser; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

Sept 5, 1861-May 14, 1862; May 1-Dec 1865

1861

1865

• Sept 5, 1861-Dec 1861 (on same reel as Richmond Daily Whig July-Sept 4, 1861
• Jan-May 14, 1862 (on same reel as Richmond Whig May 15-Dec 1862
• May 1-Dec 1865 (on same reel as Richmond Whig Jan-Apr 29, 1865

Edgefield Advertiser (SC)

Oct 15, 1856-April 22, 1868

Evening Journal (Martinsburg—Berkeley Co.) See also: Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal; Morning Journal

May-Oct 1912; 1978-Aug 3, 1990

1907

1978

Farmers Advocate (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Spirit of Jefferson; Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate

1897-1930; Oct 25, 1935-1943; 1945-Oct 3, 1947

Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper; Leslie’s; Leslie’s Weekly

Dec 15, 1855-Nov 28, 1891

Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper; Leslie’s; Leslie’s Weekly

Dec 5, 1891-June 21, 1894

Frederick News-Post (MD)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Online Full Text Access

1995-May 30, 2017: Newspaper Source (EBSCOHost)

Gate-City Guardian (Atlanta, GA)

Feb 12-March 2, 1861

Gerardstown [Gerrardstown ]Times (Berkeley Co.)

Jan 28, 1898- Dec 22, 1905

Good News Paper (Shepherdstown—Jefferson Co.)

1979-20xx Shepherd Archive

Grant County Press (Petersburg—Grant County)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Online Full Text Access

Feb 3, 2009-present: Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)

Greenbrier County Newspapers See also: Greenbrier Independent; Lewisburg Chronicle; Lewisburg Times; Lewisburg Weekly Times; Tocsin of Reform; Valley Messenger; Western Era

1851-1892 (holdings incomplete)  

This reel is NOT a newspaper; it is a single-reel repository for all the papers named in the “See Also” list.

Greenbrier Independent (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 31, 1867-May 9, 1874 (scattered issues); some issues are on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Hampshire Review (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer; Review (Romney)

May 22, 1884-March 25, 1903; Dec 29, 1920-July 1952

1884

1920 

Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review; Review; South Branch Intelligencer

Aug 1952-June 1972; Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Hardy County News (Moorefield, WV)

April 30, 1897-Dec 11, 1902; April 28, 1932-April 16, 1942

1897

1929

 

Independent (Shepherdstown—Jefferson Co.)

1934-1958

Journal (Martinsburg—Berkeley Co.) See also: Evening Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Morning Journal

1993-March 2017; Renewed subscription--Current year Sept 1, 2023 start date (Reading Room)

Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper; Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper; Leslie’s; Leslie’s Weekly

July 5, 1894-Oct 12, 1901; Jan 17-Dec 26, 1907; Jan 2, 1908-Jan 25, 1912

1894

1907

• July 5, 1894-Oct 12, 1901 (on same reel as Leslie’s Weekly Oct 19-Dec 26, 1901)
• Jan 17-Dec 26, 1907 (on same reel as Leslie’s Weekly Jan 3-Jan 10, 1907)
• Jan 2, 1908-Jan 25, 1912 (on same reel as Leslie’s Feb 1-Dec 26, 1912)

Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper; Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s; Leslie’s Weekly

Feb 26, 1914-Oct 2, 1920

• Feb 26-Dec 31, 1914 (on same reel as Leslie’s Jan 1-Feb 19, 1914)
• Jan 10-Oct 2, 1920 (on same reel as Leslie’s Oct 9-Dec 25, 1920)

Leslie’s See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper; Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Weekly

Feb 1, 1912-Feb 19, 1914; Oct 9, 1920-Oct 22, 1921

1912

1920

• Feb 1-Dec 26, 1912 (on same reel as Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Jan 4-Jan 25, 1912)
• Jan 1-Feb 19, 1914 (on same reel as Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper Feb 26-Dec 31, 1914)
• Oct 9, 1920-Dec 25, 1920 (on same reel as Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper Jan 10-Oct 2, 1920)
• Jan 1-Oct 22, 1921 (on same reel as Leslie’s Weekly Oct 29, 1921-June 17, 1922)

Leslie’s Weekly See also: Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper; Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Newspaper; Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly; Leslie’s

Oct 19, 1901-June 10, 1907; Oct 29,1921-June 17, 1922

1901

1921

• Oct 19-Dec 26, 1901 (On same reel as Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly July 5, 1894-Oct 12, 1901)
• Jan 2, 1902-June 10, 1907 (on same reel as Leslie’s Illustrated Weekly Jan 17-Dec 26, 1907)
• Oct 29, 1921-June 17, 1922 (on same reel as Leslie’s Jan 1-Oct 22, 1921

Lewisburg Chronicle (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Jan 19-June 1, 1861

• Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Lewisburg Times (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

March 22, 1866-May 25, 1867

• Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Lewisburg Weekly Times (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Jan 13, 1866

• Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Liberator (Boston, MA)

1831-1865

Lynchburg Daily Virginian (VA) See also: Daily Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian (Tri-weekly)

Aug 3, 1858-Jun 15, 1859;Aug 4, 1859-July 1861 (holdings incomplete); April 17, 1863-Nov 9, 1863; Sept 1865-Aug 1866

1852

1863

1865

• April 17-July 31, 1863 on same reel as Daily Lynchburg Virginian Aug 7, 1862-April 13, 1863
• Aug 1, 1863-Nov 9, 1863 on same reel as Lynchburg Virginian Nov 10, 1863-July 29, 1864)                 

Lynchburg Virginian (VA) See also: Daily Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Daily Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian (Tri-weekly)

Nov 10, 1863-Mar 24, 1865

• Nov 10, 1863-July 29, 1864 (on same reel as Lynchburg Daily Virginian Aug 1, 1863-Nov 9, 1863)
• Aug 1, 1864-Mar 24, 1865 (on same reel as Daily Lynchburg Virginian May 16, 1865-Aug 31, 1865)

Lynchburg Virginian (Triweekly) See also: Daily Lynchburg Virginian; Lynchburg Daily Virginian; Lynchburg Virginian

Aug 3, 1857-Aug 1, 1859

Martinsburg Gazette (Berkeley Co.) See also: Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser; Martinsburgh Gazette

Oct 17, 1833-March 7, 1855 (holdings incomplete)

• Oct 17, 1833-Dec 24, 1834 located on same reel as Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser Jan 5, 1832-Oct 10,1833

Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser See also: Martinsburg Gazette; Martinsburgh Gazette

Jan 1826-Oct 10, 1833

• Jan 5, 1832-Oct 10, 1833 are on same reel as Martinsburg Gazette Oct 17, 1833-Dec 25, 1834

Martinsburgh Gazette (Berkeley Co.) See also: Martinsburg Gazette; Martinsburg Gazette and Public Advertiser

1810-1822 (holdings incomplete); 1823-1825

Martinsburg Herald

1881-1913 (holdings incomplete)

Martinsburg Independent See also: Martinsburg Weekly Independent (1874-1876); Berkeley Union

1875-April 3, 1899

Martinsburg Journal (Martinsburg--Berkeley Co.) See also: Evening Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal; Journal; Morning Journal

1921-1929; 1932-1977

Martinsburg Statesman See also: Martinsburg Statesman-Democrat

1874-Sept 14, 1906

• Jan 5-Sept 14, 1906 located on same reel as Martinsburg Statesman-Democrat Sept 21-Dec 1906

Martinsburg Statesman-Democrat  See also: Martinsburg Statesman

Sept 21-Dec 1906; 1908-1913

•  Sept 21-Dec 1906 located on same reel as Martinsburg Statesman Jan 5-Sept 14, 1906

Martinsburg Weekly Independent See also: Martinsburg Independent;Berkeley Union

Jan 1874-March 27, 1875

Martinsburg W Va Evening Journal See also: Evening Journal; Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Morning Journal; Journal

Feb.1916-April 1920

 

 

Some newspaper titles have multiple records associated with them in the catalog. The year will be bold and hyperlinked instead of the newspaper title.

Example:

Hampshire Review (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer; Review (Romney)

May 22, 1884-March 25, 1903; Dec 29, 1920-July 1952

1884

1920

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many of the current daily print newspapers Shepherd University had access to were and remain suspended.

Below is an example of the status of a suspended subscription.

 

Mineral Daily News and Keyser Tribune (Keyser—Mineral Co.)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

 

Updates on whether subscriptions for daily papers are resumed will be provided when information can be confirmed.

Memphis Bulletin (TN)

July 4, 1862-May 24, 1863

Memphis Daily Appeal (TN)

1857-1866 (holdings incomplete)

Memphis Daily Avalanche (TN) See also: Daily Memphis Avalanche

1861-1862(holdings incomplete); Jan-March 4, 1866

Memphis Weekly Appeal (TN)

1858; Dec 21, 1859-Dec 5, 1860

Mineral Daily News and Keyser Tribune (Keyser—Mineral Co.)

Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Mobile Advertiser and Register (AL)

June 7-Oct 31, 1861; Jan 18, 1862- June 6, 1863

Mobile Daily Advertiser and Register (AL)

June 9, 1863-May 26, 1864

Mobile Daily Register (AL)

Feb 17, 1859-June 29, 1860

Moorefield Examiner (WV) See also: Weekly Examiner; Moorefield Examiner and Hardy County News

Aug 8, 1907-1936;1940-Mar 13, 1957

• Aug 8, 1907-Dec 19, 1907 located on same reel as Weekly Examiner (Moorefield)

Moorefield Examiner and Hardy County News (WV) See also: Moorefield Examiner; Weekly Examiner

Mar 20, 1957- 1972; Current month (Reading Room)

Morgan Mercury (Berkeley Springs—Morgan Co.) See also: Morgan Messenger

1882-1893 (holdings incomplete)

• Berkeley Republican July 1, 1892 is on the second reel of Morgan Mercury paper.

Morgan Messenger (Berkeley Springs—Morgan Co.) See also: Morgan Mercury

1893-1975 (holdings incomplete); Current month (Reading Room)

Morning Journal (Martinsburg--Berkeley Co.) See also: Evening Journal; Journal; Martinsburg Journal; Martinsburg WVa Evening Journal

Aug. 4, 1990-Jan. 1, 1993

Natchez Daily Courier (MS)

Oct 1857-Sept 1860

Natchez Daily Free Trader (MS) See also: Daily Free Trader (Natchez,MS)

Feb 1859- Sept 28, 1860

• Located on Daily Free Trader (Natchez, MS) reel

National Observer (MD/DC)

Feb 1962-July 11, 1977 (Compact Storage)

National Telegraph (Clarksburg—Harrison Co.) See also: Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg)

Jan 3-Dec 5, 1862

• Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg) on same reel

New Orleans Bee (LA)

1858-1865

Online Full Text Access

Sept 1827-Dec 1923: Jefferson Parish Library http://nobee.jplibrary.net/index.htm

New Orleans Commercial Bulletin (LA)

1858-June 1862

New York Daily Times (NY) See also: New York Times

Full Text Online Access

1851-1857: The New York Times: Proquest Historical Newspapers

New York Times (NY)

Jan 2008-Dec 2011 (Compact storage); Current print subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Full Text Online Access

1851-2017:  The New York Times: Proquest Historical Newspapers

Picket (Shepherd College/University)

Jan 30, 1896-1994 (Microfilm)

Shepherd College Collection (Shepherd Archive)

Jan 30, 1896-April 2015

Full Text Online Access

1896-2000

Shepherd Picket Archive

Post (Berkeley Springs—Morgan Co.)

Feb 14, 1907-Jan 4, 1917

Religious Herald (Richmond, VA)

1858-March 1867

Review (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review; Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer

April 1903-Dec 22, 1920

Richmond Daily Whig (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig & Advertiser; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

1860-Sept 4, 1861

• July-Sept 4, 1861 located on same reel as Daily Richmond Whig Sept 5-Dec 1861

Richmond Enquirer (VA)

1861-1862

Richmond Whig (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig & Advertiser; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

May 15, 1862-April 1865

• May 15, 1862-Dec 1862 (on same reel as Daily Richmond Whig Jan-May 14, 1862)
• Jan-April 1865 (on same reel as Daily Richmond Whig May 1-Dec 1865)

Richmond Whig and Advertiser (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser

 Jan 3, 1868-Jan 5, 1869

• Jan 3, 1868-Jan 5, 1869 on same reel as Richmond Whig and Public Advertiser Jan 24, 1865-Dec 27, 1867

Richmond Whig & Public Advertiser (VA) See also: Daily Richmond Whig; Richmond Daily Whig; Richmond Whig; Richmond Whig and Advertiser

1857- June 11, 1861; Jan 24, 1865-Dec 27, 1867

• Jan 24, 1865-Dec 27, 1867 (located on same reel as Richmond Whig and Advertiser Jan 3, 1868-Jan 5, 1869

Sentinel (Richmond, VA)

May 11, 1863-Dec 5, 1865

Shepherdstown Chronicle (Jefferson Co.)

Renewed subscription--Current year Sept 1, 2023 start date (Reading Room)

West Virginia Archive (Room 310)

March 1994-2016?

Shepherdstown Register (Jefferson Co.)

1849-Oct 1860; July 15, 1865-Dec 22, 1955

Online Full Text Access

1849-1922 Library of Congress: Chronicling America https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84026824/

South Branch Intelligencer (Romney—Hampshire Co.) See also: Hampshire Review and the South Branch Intelligencer

1866-1896

Southern Churchman (Richmond VA)

Nov 22, 1861-Mar 8, 1865

Southern Confederacy (GA)

March 1861-May 23, 1863; Nov 24, 1864-Feb 8, 1865

Spirit of Jefferson (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Farmers’ Advocate; Spirit of Jefferson Farmers’ Advocate

1852-1948 (except Sept 12-to Dec 26, 1871)

Notes for this paper’s run:

• On reel Jan 6, 1874-Dec 26, 1876, only 1875 is  listed as complete.
• Jan 1, 1907-Sept 7, 1909 issues were badly damaged prior to being filmed
• Jun 27, 1916 is on reel Jan 7, 1913-Dec 29, 1914 (placed after May 26, 1914)
• Jan 7-Feb 25, 1948 are on same reel as Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate Mar 4-Dec 31, 1948

Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.) See also: Farmers Advocate; Spirit of Jefferson

March 1948-June 1984; 1985-2003; Renewed subscription--Current year (Reading Room)

• Back issues are in West Virginia Archive (Rm 310)
• March 4-Dec 31, 1948 located on same reel as Spirit of Jefferson Jan 7-Feb 25, 1948
• June 25, Oct 22, and Dec 24, 1959 are not available.  

Student Christian (Shepherdstown—Shepherd College)

Shepherd College Collection (Shepherd Archive)

Fall 1966-May 1967 

Tocsin of Reform (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 1, 1854

• Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

Valley Messenger (Ronceverte—Greenbrier Co.)

April 27, 1892

• On reel labeled Greenbrier County Newspapers

Virginia Free Press (Charles Town—Jefferson Co.)

Jan 10, 1856-June 13, 1861; Aug 24, 1865-Sept 9, 1896

Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, VA)

Sept 3, 1736-Dec 9, 1790; Aug 24, 1853-Oct 18, 1855; Feb 18-July 1, 1869; May 20-Oct 13, 1893

1736

1853

1869

1893

• Issues of Virginia Gazette from Feb 18-July 1, 1869; May 20-Oct 13, 1893 are listed on other side of box.

Full Text Online Access

2009-2017 Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOHost)

Also on reel Virginia Gazette (1853) are the following  Williamsburg newspapers:

• Cavalier
• Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Williamsburg advertiser
• Virginia gazette, Baltimore, Richmond  and Norfolk advertiser
• Williamsburg weekly gazette
• Williamsburg weekly gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore advertiser
• Weekly gazette and Eastern Virginia advertiser

Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond and Norfolk Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette; Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Williamsburg Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Baltimore Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser

Mar 18, 1856-Apr 3, 1856

Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Williamsburg Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond and Norfolk Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk and Baltimore Advertiser; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser

Oct 25, 1855-Mar 13, 1856

Wall Street Journal (NY)

1973-2008 (Compact Storage); Current subscription suspended (Reading Room)

Washington Post (DC)

2011- Aug 31, 2016 (Microfilm); 1972-2010 (3rd floor Storage)

Online:Shepherd University Library online subscription

Washington Post, Times Herald (DC)

1972-1973 (3rd floor Storage)

Weekly Examiner (Moorefield—Hardy Co.) See also: Moorefield Examiner; Moorefield Examiner and Hardy County News

Nov 27, 1902; Jan 1903-Aug 1, 1907

• Jan 1903-Aug 1, 1907 on same reel as Moorefield Examiner Aug 8-Dec 19, 1907

Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Williamsburg Advertiser; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond, and Norfolk advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Virginia Gazette

1859-1860 (scattered issues)

• Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Weekly National Telegraph (Clarksburg—Harrison Co.) See also: National Telegraph (Clarksburg)

May 27, 1864-Dec 8, 1865; 1868

• Located on National Telegraph (Clarksburg) reel

Weekly Register (Point Pleasant—Upshur Co.)

Mar 6, 1862-1869

Wellsburg Herald (Wellsburg—Brooke Co.)

1858-Jan 1861; 1862-1865

Western Era (Lewisburg—Greenbrier Co.)

Oct 29, 1851-Aug 17, 1853

• Located on Greenbrier County Newspapers reel

West Virginia Hillbilly (Richwood, WV)

Nov 3, 1956-Oct 26, 1957; Dec 7, 1959-Dec 8, 1984; 1986-1991

1956

1986

• Several reels are marked partially faded

Wheeling Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling—Ohio Co.) See also: Daily Intelligencer (Wheeling)

1858-Nov 11, 1859;Jun 26-Dec 1865

1852

1865

• Daily Intelligencer Nov 12-Dec 1859 is located on the same reel as Wheeling Daily Intelligencer July-Nov 11, 1859
•  Wheeling Daily Intelligencer June 26- Dec 1865 is located on same reel as Daily Intelligencer Jan-Jun 24, 1865.

Wheeling Daily Register

Jan 22, 1877

• Located in West Virginia Archive (Rm 310)

Williamsburg Weekly Gazette See also: Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Williamsburg Advertiser; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond, and Norfolk Advertiser; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore Advertiser; Virginia Gazette

April 17, 1856-Aug 11, 1858

• Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Williamsburg Weekly Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Baltimore Advertiser See also: Virginia Gazette, Richmond, Norfolk, and Williamsburg Advertiser; Virginia Gazette, Baltimore, Richmond, and Norfolk Advertiser; Weekly Gazette and Eastern Virginia Advertiser; Williamsburg Weekly Gazette; Virginia Gazette

April 10, 1856

• Located on Virginia Gazette (1853) reel

Wilmington Herald (Wilmington, NC) See also: Daily Herald (Wilmington, NC)

April 9, 1857-April 29, 1858

Wilmington Journal (Wilmington, NC)

1860-Feb 20, 1865; Sept 28, 1865-July 14, 1866

World (Martinsburg—Berkeley Co.)

Aug 31, 1891-Sept 23, 1893

Yorkville Enquirer (York, SC)

1856-1866