LibGuides: Newspapers: Digital Newspapers

Linked Newspapers

The Washington Post: Shepherd University subscription

The Picket 1896-2000: Shepherd University student newspaper--digitized from print issues

Between 2000 and the end of 2013, the PICKET continued in print. Contact the archivist to view these issues.

The Picket: Nov 2013-current

Virginia Gazette through Points of View Reference (2005-2023)

Daily Dispatch through Chronicling America

New Orleans Bee through Jefferson Parish Library

Shepherdstown Register through Chronicling America

Reminder--Off Campus Access

Off-campus Access to Subscription Database Content is available to

Students
Faculty
Staff
Administration

Individuals must use their Shepherd University username and password to do so.

Below is an example of a username/password:

ex. Jdoe01

Password: 8Ch@racters

The List--Subscription Databases

From the electronic resources list, here are the subscription databases with access to newspapers.

Chronicle of Higher Ed This link opens in a new window
Library use only; ask at reference desk for password. Website containing information and back issues of previously print newspaper of higher education.
Chronicling America from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers;also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
New York Times (1851-2019) : Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications including national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, etc.
Points of View Reference Center (an EBSCOhost service) This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects; provides a list of the most current topics debated at the present time, links to articles on the topic, and useful assistance in writing a research paper on those topics.

Newspapers: Digital Newspapers

Digital Newspapers Introduction

Linked Newspapers

Reminder--Off Campus Access

The List--Subscription Databases