Subjects: General Guides

Collection Development Policy for SU Archives

Please refer to the mission statement of the SUASC as a guide to help determine whether or not an item (however well-loved) should be donated to the archives. Further guidelines for an item's (or collection's) inclusion are listed below.

The Shepherd University Archive contains and collects records relating to the administrative, academic, social, and cultural history of Shepherd University since its creation in 1871. These records include print, photographs, pamphlets, cards, programs, realia, slides, scrapbooks and ledgers, meeting minutes of faculty, copies of faculty publications and ephemera.

The West Virginia Archive collects and will continue to collect materials that pertain to the history, culture and landscape of the Mountain State, particularly in already-established collections dealing with local history (primarily Jefferson County). The West Virginia Archive also contains rare books that constitute their own collection, not listed on the Print Collections page.

As space permits, materials may be added to the West Virginia Archive.

All items given to the SUASC must:

  • relate directly to Shepherd University, its students, faculty, administration, and organizations (to be considered for the Shepherd University Archive) or to the history, culture and landscape of West Virginia or be part of an already-established Special Collection (to be housed in the West Virginia Archive room.
  • be in good condition and be able to be handled and stored safely.
  • be in a format (print, photograph, microform, digital or media) that is able to be used without resorting to extremely specialized equipment, such as an unsupported digital file format).
  • be limited in scope. The space in the archives is small; additions (and their storage requirements) must fit in with all other archive materials housed in an archive room.
  • become the sole property of the SU Archives and Special Collections via a Deed of Gift form (if donated from outside the university), be transferred internally from a university department to the archives' care, or as an addition into an already-established special collection.

This archive does not collect 

  1. Materials unrelated:
  •  to the Shepherd Archive
  •  the West Virginia Archive and its special collections.
  1. Copies of materials we already have several of (such as yearbooks or the Picket)
  2. Federal or State Government Documents
  3. Materials in obsolete digital or media formats
  • VHS or Betamax tapes
  • Reel to reel
  • Cassette tapes
  • 8 track
  • Floppy disks
  • Laser discs, etc.

Materials that the SUASC cannot accept may still be accepted by the Shepherd University Library; please see the Donation Policy for details.

The SUASC collection development policy is based on and works with the Scarborough Library Collection Development Policy.

Types of Resources Collected by the SUASC

Types of resources  that have been collected by the SUASC include:

  • Print materials (books)
  • Manuscripts (letters, diaries, account books, ledgers)
  • Photographs (and negatives)
  • Slides
  • Scrapbooks
  • Newspapers
  • Organizational meeting minutes
  • Accreditation and self-studies of the university
  • Honors Theses
  • Realia (plaques, pennants, models, diplomas)
  • Ephemera (cards, postcards, pamphlets)
  • Artwork
  • Maps
  • Architectural drawings
  • CDs and vinyl records
  • DVDs and VHS tapes