Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shepherd University's Archives and Special Collections: NEW-- Updated Archive Policy During Corona Virus

Modifications to Archive Reading Room Use Policy

During the current coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the safety of all researchers and staff is our highest priority. The following changes to using the materials from SUASC collections are in effect for the foreseeable future:

  •  As of May 25, 2021, COMMUNITY RESEARCHERS ARE WELCOME

  • All in-person use of archive and Special Collections materials will be "by appointment only" in accordance with regular Summer rules:

                            Archive Hours During Summer (May 25th-August 23rd 2021)

                              Monday-Friday 9am-4:00 pm

 

Please call (304) 876-5417 or e-mail fmarshal@shepherd.edu to make an appointment

 

 

Donations Policy Update

 

DONATIONS OF MATERIALS

The SUASC will continue to consider accepting donations to their collections.

All donors are still encouraged to read and consider the Archives Collection Development policy before sending any materials.

During this time, however, the SUASC requests that any potential physical donations that are not from on-campus offices be sent via United States Postal Service to the following address:

Attn: Ms. Frances Marshall

Ruth Scarborough Library

PO Box 5001

Shepherd University

Shepherdstown WV 25443

Please include a short description of the item(s) being donated, any background you have on the material, and whether or not you want them back if the archives cannot use them.

Any and all physical donations will be quarantined for a week to lessen the potential risk of COVID-19 spread.

 

Fall 2020 Researcher Guidelines

FOR ALL RESEARCHERS

 

  • ALL individuals MUST  provide proof of full COVID-19 vaccination or wear a face covering while in the building. Face coverings are available for guest use at the entrance to the library.
  • Once inside the library building, do one of the following: come to Room 254, ask a staff member to escort you, or have a staff member call the archives office to provide an escort. 
  • All archives and special collections research occurs in the Archive Reading Room (Room 254)
  • All researchers in the Archive Reading Room will wash their hands (or use hand sanitizer) before touching any materials.
  • Once seated at a table, a researcher will only leave the area to use the restroom.

 

SUASC Community Liaison Guidelines

COMMUNITY LIAISONS

Community liaisons for groups that have standing verbal or written agreements with SUASC, such as Jefferson County Historic Landmarks Commission, are asked to please make arrangements by appointment to continue monitoring their assets.   

  • ALL individuals MUST  provide proof of full COVID-19 vaccination or wear a face covering while in the building. Face coverings are available for guest use at the entrance to the library.
  • If  liaison duties include adding items to the collection you oversee, ensure there is enough time to perform all duties associated with this task, especially during summer when library hours end at 4:30 pm. Liaisons can schedule multiple meetings to complete accessioning or inventorying of their organization's assets.