Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shepherd University's Archives and Special Collections: About Us

Mission Statement


Shepherd College ca.1896

Shepherd University’s Archives and Special Collections serve the Shepherd University community and external researchers by acquiring, arranging, preserving, providing access to, and interpreting the permanent records of Shepherd University, and rare and unique materials that support the University’s administration, teaching, research, and outreach.

About Us

The above mission statement covers not only the Shepherd University Archives but the Special Collections (formerly called the West Virginia Archive).

These two archive areas have two distinct focii: the Shepherd University Archive consist of records relating to the administrative, academic, social, and cultural history of Shepherd University since its creation in 1871.

Items found here include:

  • Physical copies of the Picket, the student newspaper
  • Photographs related to Shepherd students, faculty, buildings, and events
  • Memorabilia and minutes from various campus organizations (student, faculty, and administrative)
  • Artwork related to or gifted to Shepherd University

 

The Special Collections materials contain books relating to West Virginia's state history, culture, and landscape. There is, in this archive, an emphasis on Jefferson and Berkeley Counties' history. In addition to the books, the Special Collections also provides space for several family papers, certain West Virginia-related journals, and other rare materials that do not circulate.

 

Reference and Special Collections Librarian

Profile Photo
Frances Marshall
chat loading...

Hours

Hours for the Archive & Special Collections Reading Room are as follows:

Fall and Spring Semesters
By appointment only between 1 pm and 5pm Sunday-Thursday

 

Summer and Intersessions
By appointment only

 

Contact Information

Phone: (304) 876-5417

Email: fmarshal@shepherd.edu