LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Culturally Responsive Education: Insurrection

Looking closer at January 6th 2021

In Recent News

Unpacking the events of January 6th, 20

Insurrection

Definition of insurrection

: an act or instance of revolting against civil authority or an established government

Synonyms

insurgence, insurgency, mutiny, outbreak, rebellion, revolt, revolution, rising, uprising

-From the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, cited and linked below

"What we witnessed on Wednesday, January 6 at the electoral vote certification was white rage. The breaching of our halls of government by white domestic terrorists was sedition by a sitting president, an attempted fascist coup, an insurrection, and the epitome of white privilege and white entitlement."

-Xyanthe Neider, used with permission & cited below

Sources: “Insurrection.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/insurrection. Accessed 19 Jan. 2021.

Neider, Xyanthe. "Inauguration Day Preparations." Jan. 2021. Reading.

News Articles

Consider the links to articles below, or try searching for additional news articles in ProQuest Combined, linked below.

"But What Will We Tell The Children?
A 2021 article from Black & Smart - a blog site where scholars and intellectuals...dialogue about preserving education (in all forms) in the Black community throughout the world."
Capitol Violence News (FBI)
A list of news articles and updates regarding the Jan. 6th insurrection, from the FBI website
Denial Is the Heartbeat of America
A 2021 article from The Atlantic by
Ibram X. Kendi
Examining the U.S. Capital Attack: A Review of the Security, Planning, and Response Failures on January 6
A report from the Senate
How one of America’s ugliest days unraveled inside and outside the Capitol
A timeline, from the Washington Post,of the events that took place at the US capitol on Jan. 6th 2021
How one of America’s ugliest days unraveled inside and outside the Capitol
A timeline, from the Washington Post,of the events that took place at the US capitol on Jan. 6th 2021
How Police Handled Pro-Trump Mob Compared With Protesters For Black Racial Justice
From NPR
New documents expose depth of Jan. 6 Capitol attack
A March 2021 article from PBS Newshour
New Videos Underscore The Violence Against Police At The Jan. 6 Capitol Riot
A June 2021 article and videos about the Jan. 6th insurrection - from NPR
NPR: Insurrection At The Capitol - Live Updates
The Politics of Oppression and Resistance Appropriation
A 2021 article from a blog about race and democracy
A return to civility will not begin to quell the threat of fascism in the US
An 01/08/2021 article from the Guardian
This is what it looks like when toxic White privilege is left unchecked
An article from The Washington Post, 01/07/2021
U.S. Capitol Violence (FBI)
Information from the FBI website on the current investigation - includes videos, photos, and additional links to recent articles and updates
Warnings of Jan. 6 violence preceded the Capitol riot
An interactive article from October 2021 regarding the Jan 6th insurrection, from the Washington Post
What Happened?
A Google website presentation with primary source materials outlining the events at the US capital on Jan. 6th 2021
What happened at the Capitol ‘was domestic terrorism,’ lawmakers and experts say
A 01/07/2021 article from The Washington Post
What Can America Learn From South Africa About National Healing?
A 12/2020 NY Times article by David Marchese
There Is No Unity Without Accountability
A 01/12/2021 article from Huffington Post
Bryan Stevenson on How America Can Heal
"A conversation about truth and reconciliation in the US." From Vox.com
Brené on Words, Actions, Dehumanization, and Accountability
Brene Brown is an author and professor at the University of Houston. Listen to this 35-minute episode of her Jan 13 2021 podcast

News Videos

Hate Symbols Left Behind at the U.S. Capitol

From Now This News
PBS NewsHour full episode, Jan. 6, 2021

From PBS NewsHour
The Insurrection: One Year Later

A 2022 video from ProPublica
January 6th in 180 seconds: Trump's rally, rioters storm U.S. Capital, Congress reconvenes

A 3-minute video from Politico
New Videos Underscore The Violence Against Police At The Jan. 6 Capitol Riot

A June 2021 article and videos about the Jan. 6th insurrection - from NPR

Resources on the Web

In order to change the future, we must first understand the past. Consider the links below that go to articles, teaching resources, and organization websites.

Symbols of Hate Raised in US Capitol Attack
The Origins of Neo-Nazi and White Supremacist Terms and Symbols from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
National Museum of African American History and Culture
In partnership with the Smithsonian - "A place to explore history and culture through an
African American lens"
National Museum of the American Indian
A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex.

more...
1619 (New York Times Podcast)
"1619 is a New York Times audio series, hosted by Nikole Hannah-Jones, that examines the long shadow of American slavery. "
Unpaid Labor Contribution
Facing History and Ourselves
"Facing History helps students connect choices made in the past to those they will confront in their own lives. Our resources address racism, antisemitism, and prejudice at pivotal moments in history."
The Freedom Archives
"The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings as well as print materials dating primarily from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. "
It's About Time - Black Panther Party Legacy & Alumni

The website includes short articles, great for background info, as well as photos, timelines, events and more. Use the menu on the left to navigate the resources on the site
Equal Justice Initiative
The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.
The Elie Wiesel Foundation For Humanity
"Our mission is to combat indifference, intolerance, and injustice through international dialogues and youth-focused programs that promote acceptance, understanding, and equality."

Media Literacy

The Freedom Forum: Today's Front Pages
The Freedom Forum is a nonpartisan 501 (c)(3) foundation that fosters First Amendment freedoms for all.
News Literacy Project
Includes resources to help educators and the general public think more critically about news
Our statement on the assault on the Capitol
From the News Literacy Project
CML Framework
A list of resources, including lesson plans on media literacy, from the Center for Media Literacy

Fact-Checking & Fake News

Learn More

For more information on fact-checking and fake news, consider the document below, as well as the research guide dedicated to helping you better evaluate your sources.

How to Spot Fake News in 10 Steps

Manually Selected Guides List. No published guides in list.

Fact-Checking and Accountability Journalism Project
The American Press Institute's effort to "increase and improve the practice of fact-checking and accountability journalism." Includes a weekly "The Week in Fact-Checking" update,
Check, Please! - Starter Fact-Checking Course
"In this course, we show you how to fact and source-check in five easy lessons, taking about 30 minutes apiece."
Created by Mike Caulfield, WSU - Vancouver.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Culturally Responsive Education: Insurrection

Terminology

Insurrection - a violent uprising against an authority or government.