Subjects: General Guides

Shepherd University Archive

Shepherd University Archive consist of records relating to the administrative, academic, social, and cultural history of Shepherd University since its creation in 1871.

 

Special Collections

Special Collections consists of collections relating to Shepherdstown and Jefferson County, West Virginia history, organizations and public education, and individuals and families of Shepherdstown.

George Riabikov Papers

This collection documents the life of George Riabikov through correspondence in German and English, practice, performance and personal schedules, birth certificate, German passport, British military documents, memorabilia, and photographs dating from 1924 to 2004. Riabikov, a well-known concert pianist, was born in Poland and grew up in UkraineRiabikov immigrated to the United States in 1949 with his mother from a Displaced Persons Camp near Hannover, Germany. Riabikov moved to Shepherdstown in 1950 and stayed with Nina Mitchell, a prominent Shepherdstown resident, at her family’s home, Rosebrake, until the mid-1980s.

Goldsborough Family Papers

This collection chronicles the life of the Lee and Goldsborough families in Shepherdstown through correspondence, diaries, day journals, ledgers, account books, postcards, newspaper clippings, estate records, and photographs dating from 1850 to 1982.

Serena Dandridge Sketches

This collection includes 25 framed sketches by Serena Katherine (Violet) Dandridge, a well-known artist and a resident of Shepherdstown. Dandridge sketches offer a unique view of life in Shepherdstown and Serena’s home known as “Rosebrake” in the early-twentieth century.

Shepherdstown Academy Collection (1812-1833) and Shepherdstown Grade School Collection (1878 – 1907)

These collections document public education in Shepherdstown through by-laws, minutes, correspondence, student records, parent notes, and diplomas.

Storer College Collection

This collection documents Storer College’s student’s academic activities through student records, instructor’s grade books, and college’s catalogs dating from 1866 to 1955. Storer College was a historically black college founded 1865 as part of the Niagara Movement and closed its doors in June of 1955 due to a lack of funding.

George B. Folk Collection

The George B. Folk Collection is comprised of the personal library of George B. Folk, 1905 graduate of Shepherd University, president of the Shepherd Alumni Association from 1961 - 1963, and a board member of Shepherd University Foundation, and books purchased by Scarborough Library from the George Folk book memorial fund established by Mr. Folk’s friends.

George B. Folk’s personal library was presented to Scarborough Library in November of 1967 a year after his death by his wife in accordance of his wishes.  Mr. Folk’s personal library included books on genealogy and regional history. 

The books purchased by Scarborough Library with the George Folk book memorial fund include topics on Shenandoah Valley and the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. 

West Virginia Collection

The West Virginia Collection consists of books relating to the state of West Virginia's history, culture, and landscape.

Jefferson County Historic Landmarks Commission Archive Collection

Scarborough Library is pleased to be able to house and make accessible the Jefferson County Historic Landmarks Commission (JCHLC) Archive.

The Jefferson County Historic Landmarks Commission Archive exists to identify, preserve, and make available records and papers of enduring historical value. Its mission is twofold:

JCHLC Papers: To collect and maintain records of enduring historical value created or received by the Commission, its officers, and members. Areas of interest include: meeting minutes, financial reports, grants, press, and correspondence.

Historic Landmarks and Sites: To collect and maintain records and papers that support the mission of JCHLC. Areas of interest include: National Register nominations and associated forms, background information on historic landmarks, correspondence, maps, architectural surveys, and other materials pertaining to historic landmarks and towns.

Finding Aid for the JCHLC Archive