Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shepherd University's Archives and Special Collections: UPDATED FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

I have something I would like to donate to the Shepherd Archives and Special Collections. Will you accept it?

Thank you for thinking of Shepherd University Archives and Special Collections as a place for your donation.

Before committing to giving us your valued items/materials, please read the SUASC Collection Development Policy to make certain your potential donation fits listed criteras for inclusion within the archives and special collections. If the item fits, feel free to contact the Special Collections Librarian and bring in your item for review.

Item review is for an item's inclusion in the archive; it is NOT an appraisal of an item's monetary value.

If the donation is accepted, a Deed of Gift form will be filled out in duplicate. The donor relinquishes all ownership rights to the items given and how they are used; a copy will be given the donor for the individual's permanent records.

What are the archives and library's hours?

The archive reading room's hours vary according to the yearly academic calendar.

Current Fall Semester Hours

During Fall 2022, Archive Reading Room hours are by appointment only during the days and times that staff are available. 

The Archive Office hours are:

  • Monday 9 am-4:00 pm
  • Tuesday 11:30 am-4pm
  • Wednesday 9:00 am-4pm
  • Thursday 11:30 am-4pm
  • Friday 9 am-4:00 pm

 

 Historical note:  Pre-COVID Fall and Spring Semester: Mon, Wed, Thurs: 5-7pm, Sat: 10am-noon; 1pm-5pm; Sun: 1-3pm and by appointment (please e-mail or call to make one)

Summer hours are by appointment only.

 

Library hours vary according to the yearly academic calendar. Please refer to the Library Hours page for current information.

Is parking available for visitors?

Yes, campus parking is available for visitors to the university. Campus police request that all visitors obtain a Visitor pass from them. Campus police are located on West Campus at Moler Hall.

There are several parking spaces for those with disabilities in front of the library on North King (these are designated both on the asphalt and with signs); most other visitors either park in A-Lot directly behind the library or find a spot in town.

A campus parking map with descriptions of each lot is provided by the Shepherd University Police Department.

What is a guest RAMBLER? and related information

You must have a RAMBLER card (Shepherd ID card) or a guest RAMBLER card in order to  print--stop at the Public Services Desk and ask to have one.

Guest RAMBLERS are NOT library cards.

Guest RAMBLERs:

  • Act as a debit card for copiers and printers at Shepherd University
  • Cost of printing or copying is $.15 for black and white copies, $.25 for color.
  • Patrons add money to the card either online or must go to the Wellness Center to the RAMBLER Office; the library no longer has the ability to add money to the guest RAMBLER card.
  • The guest RAMBLER does not expire

How do I add money to my guest RAMBLER Card?

In order to add money to the guest RAMBLER Card, there are three available options: add money using the RAMBLER Office's website, add money over the phone, or visit the RAMBLER Card Office in person.

Add Money Using the RAMBLER Office website

The RAMBLER Office website http://shepherdwellness.com/rambler-card/ is available at all times.

The site has a MAKE A DEPOSIT page. Note: You will need either a credit card or a PAYPal account  and a valid e-mail address to use this service.

  1. Go to the RAMBLER Office website (http://shepherdwellness.com/rambler-card/)
  2. Choose the MAKE A DEPOSIT option either using the left pane of the page or the white-lettered text at the page top.
  3. Once you are on the MAKE A DEPOSIT page, scroll down to Account ID and type the entire number that should be on the front of the Guest RAMBLER.
  4. Next, choose the amount of money you want to add to the card.
  5. Input a valid e-mail address where your receipt of the purchase will be made.
  6. Click "I am not a robot" box and click to move to the next page.
  7. The next page includes billing information; fill this out completely, choose your payment method, and complete the transaction as you would any other online purchase.
  8. The guest RAMBLER Card can now be used to print or use the copiers

 

Call the RAMBLER Office

Call  during business hours at (304) 876-5300 to deposit money over the phone.

 

Visit the RAMBLER Card Office

This option is lowest on the list because the RAMBLER Office is at the Wellness Center on West Campus. If you do not have a credit card, this is the only place to add funds to the guest RAMBLER.

Does the library have public access computers available?

Yes, the library has four public access (or use) computers; two are currently available for use.

All of them are located on the left side of the library's main floor, near the 24-hour room. Previously, a few of them had been inside the computer lab under the READ posters.

All public use computers have a new save screen installed; this screen is blue with white text.

"This is a public use computer. You must wait at least 30 seconds before continuing past this screen. The computer must connect to the network."

Click the dark blue rectangle on the screen to continue to the desktop.

 

Please remember to save any work to a USB flash drive or e-mail it to yourself. Items saved to the desktop, network or C: drive will be deleted after the computer is logged off. 

How do I print from a public access computer?

Printing from the Public Use Computers

  1. At the public use computer, hit the "Print" command of whichever computer application is being printed (a word document, a spreadsheet, a photo).
  2. As of September 1, 2021, the public use computers should connect to the new copier/printers in the main room. Guest RAMBLER cards should work with these copier/printers. Please see a staff member at the Public Services Desk for assistance if they do not.

How do I print from a public access computer?

Printing from the Public Use Computers

  1. At the public use computer, hit the "Print" command of whichever computer application is being printed (a word document, a spreadsheet, a photo).
  2. Choose either the black and white printer or the color printer from the printer options.
  3. Click "Print" icon. Write down the time at which you sent your job to the printer.
  4. Go to the printers located near Rm 256 and the Reading Room on the main floor. There are two black and white printers (on the right side) and one color printer (left side, closest to Rm 256's main door.) Black and white copies (per page) are now $.10; color copies are now $0.20. Since August 30, 2021, the COLOR printer is OUT OF ORDER. We apologize for any inconvenience.
  5. In order to release a print job, you must have either a RAMBLER or a guest RAMBLER (see question "What is a guest RAMBLER") with money on it; if you do not have money on the card, you will need to add funds either using the online option or visiting the RAMBLER Office in person (the RAMBLER Office is located in the Wellness Center on West Campus).
  6. Tap the screen of the printer you are using to wake it up.
  7. Swipe the guest RAMBLER face up (the card will remain "flat") to bring up the printer queue.
  8. Locate owner name "libakiosk"--this is the owner name for all documents coming from any public use computer. Check the time of the document against the time you sent the job to be sure you are printing the correct document.
  9. Touch the print job you want to release until the job highlights (should turn  dark blue)
  10. Touch the print square at the bottom of the screen to print your job. Money will automatically be deducted from the guest RAMBLER for each printed page.

UPDATED Do you have a microfilm reader? What about copiers?

Microfilm Reader/Printer

The library possesses one microform reader (it can read both microfilm and microfiche) in the reference area.

If you need help loading, viewing, or handling microfilm or microfiche, please ask a library staff member or librarian for assistance.

The microfilm machine allows a patron to use a USB flash drive to save images (PDF) of the screen they are reading, if a patron has one. 

Printing from the microform reader is NO LONGER available; please save all images to a USB drive and print from the public use computers.

Copiers

The library possesses two copiers near the Public Services desk.  Copies cost $0.10 a copy for black and white but $0.20 for color. Use of the copiers for copying requires a RAMBLER or a guest RAMBLER card; other features the copier offers (e-mailing a scanned picture, for example) are free.

 

Updates

This page's information is reviewed periodically, verified, and updated at least once a year. Current update: 8/25/2021