Skip to Main Content

Collection Development Policy for Scarborough Library: Introduction

Collection Development Policy

Intellectual Freedom/Copyright Compliance

The Scarborough Library supports the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights and its concept of intellectual freedom. In making selections, the Library attempts to include material representing differing points of view on controversial issues. As long as subjects fit into the general collection guidelines of the Library, they will be considered without censorship or prejudice when determining the collection's balance.

The Scarborough Library complies with the Copyright Law of the United States. Library services including electronic resources, reserve materials, photocopying, and acquisitions procedures must comply with U.S. copyright.

Shepherd University, a state-supported institution within the West Virginia higher education system, has grown into a comprehensive center of higher learning over its 130-year history. It serves multiple roles:

  • The university offers a wide range of baccalaureate and master's degrees in various fields, such as liberal arts, business administration, teacher education, social and natural sciences, and career-oriented areas.

  • It provides credit courses for individuals who seek to broaden and update their knowledge in familiar or new fields of intellectual endeavor, regardless of their pursuit of a specific degree.

Purpose and Goals

The purpose of this collection development policy is to outline the Scarborough Library's program and establish standards for selecting, developing, and maintaining its collection. Shepherd University and the Scarborough Library aim to acquire and offer materials in various formats while considering available resources. The library evaluates existing collections, develops policies, and engages in resource sharing agreements to expand accessible materials.

The goals of this plan are as follows:

  • Determine and document budget needs.
  • Enhance communication between the Library and its users.
  • Ensure consistent and balanced collection growth.
  • Foster awareness of a diverse and global environment.
  • Provide high-quality academic services and resources that encourage intellectual curiosity and critical inquiry.
  • Engage in community outreach.
  • Meet the instructional and institutional needs of Shepherd University's population.
  • Establish a planning document for ongoing collection development.
  • Provide selection guidelines for library materials.
  • Establish guidelines for collection maintenance and preservation.
  • Set standards for continuous collection assessment.

Scarborough Library's Mission & Values Statement

Mission

The mission of the Scarborough Library is to be a leading resource for information, innovation, and community enrichment at Shepherd University and in the region. Our mission succeeds because we are dedicated to our core values: learning, service, accessibility, and diversity, which are in direct alignment with the core values of Shepherd University: Learning, Engagement, Integrity, Accessibility, and Community.

Core Values

Learning

  • Access to information in a wide variety of formats to advance the instructional goals of the campus.
  • A knowledgeable and professional library staff that is committed to the academic success of our diverse student body and dedicated to supporting the research needs of our faculty.
  • Providing off-campus access to all of the library’s electronic subscription information to facilitate student learning.

Service

  • Exemplary customer service in all areas and to all library users.
  • A collaborative working environment rooted in staff initiative and creativity and dedicated to continual professional development.

Accessibility

  • Serve the larger Eastern Panhandle area as a valuable, intellectual, and cultural resource to the community.
  • A welcoming, comfortable and attractive environment that is conducive to academic pursuits and various learning styles.

Diversity

  • An atmosphere of mutual respect for all students, faculty and staff, and library users.
  • Open access to a diverse library collection and support for intellectual freedom and the values set forth by the American Library Association’s Bill of Rights.
Scarborough Library | Shepherd University
© 2020 Scarborough Library | 301 N. King Street | P.O. Box 5001 | Shepherdstown, WV 25443 | Phone: 304.876.5421 | Fax: 304.876.0731