P - Language and Literature - Monograph Deselection Project

Deselection is the withdrawal of materials from the library collection to maintain a collection that satisfies the mission of Shepherd University and serves the research and current informational needs of the university and community. This process is an essential part of collection development. A collection evaluation procedure has been developed drawing on American Library Association principles, collection development policies of other academic institutions, and other appropriate sources.

Review Process for Deselection

Click on the link below to peruse the items up for review.
Mark in columns:
- Yes (Y) to deselect
- No (N) for retention
Feedback is allowed in the notes section. Please justify by providing a reason for keeping it in the collection.

The spreadsheet that you are viewing has been filtered for the following criteria:

Items published before 2015.
Items have not been checked out since 2018.
Items with three or fewer lifetime circulations (check-outs).

Additional notes:

Class P is broken down into several lists because it is so large.
Popular best-sellers published over ten years ago that have not circulated since 2018 (mostly in the PS section) are being considered for deselection regardless of circulation numbers to make room for new publications.
1/1/1901 in the "Last Circulation Date" column is the default date for items that do not have any record of circulating.

Links to Lists of Items on Review Below

P Collection Evaluation
This link will take you to the Excel spreadsheet of items in our class P collection that are up for review. This list has been filtered to show only items older than ten years and having circulated three or fewer times since being added to the collection. The only two columns that should allow for editing are the last two (deselection and notes).

Monograph Deselection Project

Library of Congress Class P

Quick Links

Review Process for Deselection