Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Search EBSCOHost databases: Basic Searching

Introduction to Basic Searching

This page focuses on how to perform a basic search in any individual EBSCOHost database, using Academic Search Complete as the example database  while "mythical bird" is the example search term.

Sample Results List for "Mythical Bird"

Here is part of the results list for "mythical bird" in Academic Search Complete. This is the end result of a basic search in a single multi-disciplinary database--but what steps were followed to get them? A tutorial is provided on the right.

 

 

 

LinkSource

Found under each individual result in the results list, the green icon above will either bring up a list of non-EBSCOHost databases where an article can also be found or will direct you to submit an Interlibrary Loan request. This option is useful when only an article's abstract appears in the results list.

 

Reaching the Databases

Start at the Library Home Page. Choose the following words in order with the mouse:

  • Research (second gray box on the left)
  • On the next page (screenshot below), click the link to EBSCOHost databases)

Choosing a Database (or Databases) and Search Terms

On the list of databases, place a checkmark in the box next to the database(s) to be searched; these will be highlighted. Click "Continue" to progress into the database(s) search screen. Or check the box "select all" to search all databases at once.

Choosing Search Terms

On the search screen, type in words that are identified with the topic of interest in each box if needed. Click the green "Search" button. At this point, the search is not being narrowed in any way, so the results list may be large. 

Look at the first left-hand box on this page for a partial results list from this search.