LibGuides: Open Education Resources By Discipline: Business

OER Collections

JSTOR Open Content — Business
Thousands of Open Access ebooks are available from top scholarly publishers. Focus on high-quality content, ease of use, and digital preservation.
MERLOT — Business
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons — Business
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and other course material for the study of accounting, finance, management, marketing, and public relations.

Textbooks

"Boundless Accounting" — Lumen
"Boundless Business" — Lumen
"Boundless Management" — Lumen
"Boundless Marketing" — Lumen
"Business Fundamentals" — OpenStax
Business Fundamentals was developed by the Global Text Project.
more...less...
Business Fundamentals was developed by the Global Text Project, which is working to create open-content electronic textbooks that are freely available on the website http://globaltext.terry.uga.edu. Distribution is also possible via paper, CD, DVD, and via this collaboration, through Connexions.
"Digital Accessibility as a Business Practice" — Ryerson U Press
"eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World, 6th Ed." — Open Textbook Library
Based on Quirk's unique Think, Create, Engage, Optimise structure and processes.
more...less...
It includes chapters on the latest marketing trends as well as updated facts and figures and all new real-world case studies showing the application of digital best practice.
"Exploring Business" — Open Textbook Library
The author's goals in writing Exploring Business Version 2.0 was simple: introduce students to business in an exciting way.
"Fundamentals of Infrastructure Management"
This book grew out of a decade of co-teaching a course entitled ‘Infrastructure Management’ at Carnegie Mellon University.
"Good Corporation, Bad Corporation: Corporate Social Responsibility in the Global Economy" — SUNY/Milne
This textbook provides an innovative, internationally oriented approach to the teaching of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and business ethics.
OpenStax — Business Textbooks
Introduction to Business, Business Ethics, Principles of Accounting, Introductory Business Statistics, Principles of Management, Entrepreneurship, Organizational Behavior, Business Law
BCcampus OpenEd Textbooks — Business
Open textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection come in multiple formats.
IntechOpen Textbooks — Business, Management and Economics
The world's leading publisher of Open Access books built by scientists, for scientists.
LibreTexts — Business Bookshelves
The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes.
MERLOT — Business Textbooks
OER Commons — Business Textbooks
These textbooks are either in use at academic institutions or have been produced by subject matter experts affiliated with academic or professional institutions.
Open Research Library — Business & Economics Textbooks
The ORL is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform.
Open Textbook Library — Business Textbooks
Saylor Academy — Business Textbooks
Textbooks on General Business; Accounting; Advertising, Sales, & Marketing; Management & Leadership, and Business Law & Ethics.
Textbook Equity — Accounting Textbooks
Free digital college level textbooks with Creative Commons Licenses, royalty-free, academically reviewed, low-cost prints.
Textbook Equity — Business Textbooks
Free digital college level textbooks with Creative Commons Licenses, royalty-free, academically reviewed, low-cost prints.

Open Courses

"Accounting for Managers" — Lumen
In Accounting for Managers, students learn the basic accounting principles needed to effectively make business decisions as a manager.
more...less...
Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
"Business Communication Skills" — Lumen
In Business Communication Skills for Managers, students learn how to communicate effectively in business, with an emphasis on the use of these skills managing teams and organizations.
more...less...
Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
"Human Resources Management" — Lumen
In this course, students are introduced to the field of human resources management and learn about the legal and social implications of managing employees.
more...less...
Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
"Introduction to Business" — Lumen
This Introduction to Business course develops students’ understanding of business fundamentals.
more...less...
Learning design is structured around timely, real-world case studies and examples. Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
"Principles of Management" — Lumen
This course teaches students how to think as managers and actively manage organizations and teams.
more...less...
They learn to do this using effective practices around planning, decision making, organizational structure, culture, leadership, motivation, and communication. Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
"Principles of Marketing" — Lumen
This course is designed to teach students the foundational principles of marketing in the digital age.
more...less...
It uses current case studies and engaging, real-world scenarios to help students recognize and analyze marketing in business as well as in everyday life. Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
"Retail Management" — Lumen
Intended to be a capstone course. Covers various aspects of retail management and store operations including merchandising, operations, layout, store organization, site location, and customer service.
more...less...
Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.
LibreTexts — Business Courses
Course shells are customized to address the needs of faculty and their students and typically contains text remixes that students and faculty can directly access for their class activities.
MERLOT — Business Online Courses
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
MIT OpenCourseWare — Business Courses
MIT OpenCourseWare makes the materials used in the teaching of almost all of MIT's subjects available on the Web, free of charge.
Saylor Academy — Business Administration Courses
Courses in small business management, entrepreneurship, marketing, finance, and more through free online courses in business administration and management.
more...less...
Excluding course final exams, content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. You are free to share and adapt with attribution.
Saylor Academy — Professional Development Courses
Includes business communications, customer service, management, business planning and strategy, etc.
more...less...
Excluding course final exams, content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. You are free to share and adapt with attribution.
Saylor Legacy Courses
These courses are inactive but available as resources. Listed in ABC order by department code.

Visual Resources

MIT Sloan — YouTube
MIT Sloan School of Management's YouTube channel.
TED Talks — Business
TED Talks — Consumerism
TED Talks — Marketing

Supplementary Materials & Tools

AnnualReports.com
Business & Economics Subject Websites
From the "Subject Websites" directory LibGuide. Some website materials may be copyrighted, but all are available for students to access.
SSRN Social Sciences Research Networks
A repository for preprints devoted to the rapid dissemination of scholarly research. Copyrighted, but available to view and cite.
more...less...
Social sciences networks include: accounting, business history & nonprofit organization, corporate governance, entrepreneurship research & policy, financial planning, leadership, management, marketing, negotiations, etc.
Wolfram Alpha: Business Statistics
Compute expert-level answers using Wolfram’s breakthrough algorithms, knowledgebase and AI technology.
Wolfram Alpha: Companies
Compute expert-level answers using Wolfram’s breakthrough algorithms, knowledgebase and AI technology.