Open Education Resources By Discipline

The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.

Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.

Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.

The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.

This book focuses on putting those topics into an appropriate context for students who are not biology majors.

This book focuses on putting those topics into an appropriate context for students who are not biology majors.

The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.

Laboratories and classroom activities introduce techniques used to study biological processes and provide opportunities for students to develop their ability to conduct research.

Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.

Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.

Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.

Includes outcome-aligned OER, LMS Integration, accessibility, images, videos, simulations, self-checks, Waymaker Courseware tools, etc.

Particular emphasis on the cell membrane, mitosis and meiosis, genetics and gene expression, transcription and translation, and cellular metabolism. Excluding course final exams, content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license. You are free to share and adapt with attribution.

Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. Unless explicitly set forth in the applicable Credits section of a lecture, third-party content is not covered under the Creative Commons license.

Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. Unless explicitly set forth in the applicable Credits section of a lecture, third-party content is not covered under the Creative Commons license.

The use of Khan Academy and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other Terms of Use.

Illustrations and animations may be downloaded in the Resources for Educators section. This website is part of a multimedia exhibit at the Museum of Science.

Includes 4 units on science in sequential order; linked is the first one.

Life sciences research networks include: biochemistry, biology, and ecology.

Researchers and educators designed Avida-ED to help students learn about evolution and scientific methods by allowing them to design and perform experiments to test hypotheses about evolutionary mechanisms using evolving digital organisms.

StarGenetics allows students to simulate mating experiments between organisms that are genetically different across a range of traits to analyze the nature of the traits in question.