Skip to Main Content

Children's Literature : Awards Before 2000

Below you can find a list of the winners for the Newberry, Caldecott, and the Coretta Scott King Awards for the years before 2000. For more recent winners, click the "Award Winners" tab above. Clicking any titles with a blue hyperlink will take you to those books in the library catalog. Any books without the hyperlink are not available in the library collection, contact the library to see if the book is available through Inter-Library Loan. You can also find award winners available at the library by searching the award name in WorldCat Discovery.

Newbery Awards

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Awards

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given every year by the American Library Association (ALA) to African-American authors and illustrators who have created outstanding books for children and young adults. Coretta Scott King, in whose honor the awards are named, was the wife of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr