American Indians in Children's Literature: Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books
CCBC Diversity Resources: Links to diversity resources for teachers and librarians. Includes links to sites promoting books by and about BIPOC authors and characters, on cultural competence, and teaching social justice.
Diverse Book Finder: Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public.
Freedom Reads - Anti-Bias Book Talk Series: Offered by Social Justice Books "Freedom Reads: Anti-Bias Book Talk is part anti-bias training, part book review. Each short segment explores anti-bias books for home and the classroom with the goal of strengthening parents’ and teachers’ anti-bias, anti-racism lens and their ability to analyze children’s media critically."
Indigenous Reads Rising: Booklists, educator resources, and more!
The Open Book Blog: A blog on race, diversity, education, and children's books.
Social Justice Books - a Teaching for Change Project: Project of Teaching for Change, a non-profit organization whose mission is to provide teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write and change the world.
Teaching Books - Diverse Books Toolkit: This toolkit helps analyze collections, identify and bring to life diverse texts, and encourage reflection on cultural representation
Tool for Selecting Diverse Text: Learning for Justice's checklist to enhance reading diversity in your classroom.
We Need Diverse Books: Advocates for all children to see themselves represented within the pages of a book, and for the promotion of diverse creators. Includes resources for finding and talking about diverse books.
Benefits of Reading Aloud - Center for Teaching
KCLS Tell Me a Story: King County Library System's list of songs and rhymes for story and circle times.
Jbrary - YouTube Channel: Two children's librarians looking to share storytime resources with the broader library and education community.
Laura Candler Teaching Resources: Tips and strategies to include when reading aloud to your classes.
Mem Fox A Read-a-loud Lesson: Tips and examples about how to read aloud to children in order to instill a love of reading in them. These tips are mostly centered around a parent reading to a child but can be applied to the classroom as well.
Reading Rockets: Offers strategies, guides, and videos to help develop your skills in reading aloud and emphasizes the importance of including reading to your students.
Storyline Online: Stories read aloud by actors. Also includes some stories read in Spanish.
Bank Street College of Education: Best Children's Book of the Year (2022): This edition includes more than 600 titles chosen by the Children’s Book Committee as the best of the best published in 2021. In choosing books for the annual list, reviewers consider literary quality and excellence of presentation as well as the potential emotional impact of the books on young readers.
Bookshare: Makes reading easier for students with disabilities that make reading print material difficult.
Into the Book: Interactive games, videos, and tests that help with reading skills (inferring, summarizing, making connections, and more).
Newsela: Source of current event stories made for classroom use. Organized by themes and offers articles for different reading levels.
Read Theory: Online reading activities for all grades and reading levels. Activities will adapt to the individual's level.
ReadWriteThink: Resources and lesson plans that will assist in teaching reading and writing.
Smithsonian Tween Tribune: Non-fiction articles available for different reading levels.
For more resources, check out these other LibGuides for the monthly observances:
Audubon for Kids: Brings together activities from the Audubon national network of environmental educators. Includes DIY activities.
Code.org: Hour-long videos on how to code for pre-readers to grades 9+.
Coding Games for Beginners: Some games are for beginners, and some call for more advanced skills. Some coding games are even multiplayer, so you can learn to code with your friends!
Edutopia Resources for STEM: STEM Everywhere video series.Explore STEM education in settings beyond the classroom walls, and see how opportunities to learn science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are all around us.
Kennedy Center Education: Includes free lessons, articles, performance guides, how-tos, and more to assist educators to bring in art into their lesson plans.
National Science Foundation: Resources and findings generated through educational research and development projects funded in part by the National Science Foundation can help inform states and school systems that are developing strategies for improving K-12 STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education.
STEM Books and Activities: Features books, children and adults, chosen by the American Association for the Advancement of Science and STEM activities that can be done at home or in the classroom.
National Science Teaching Association: Offers lesson plans, journals, and free resources
Share My Lesson: Share and download lesson plans about different topics and for different age groups.
Teacher2Teachers: A place to share resources and insights with other teachers.
Teaching for Change: Resources for talking about social justice issues in the classroom/school.
Teachers Pay Teachers: A way to support other educators; share, sell, and buy resources such as room decor and guides.
Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching: "The CFT has prepared guides to a variety of teaching topics with summaries of best practices, links to other online resources, and information about local Vanderbilt resources."
We Are Teachers: Features classroom ideas, career advice, and free printables amongst other resources.
