Always refer to the MLA Handbook for authorized examples of citations.
Some of the citations in this guide are taken from the MLA Handbook; others are recommendations from the librarians.
Always ask your instructor for specific directions pertaining to your assignment.
MLA Handbook: Ninth EditionThe standard citation style guide for the humanities, especially languages and literature, is the MLA Handbook, 9th edition, 2021. The Modern Language Association of America (MLA) publishes the manual. It is commonly referred to it as the "MLA Manual" or the "MLA Handbook."
Two types of citations are included in most research papers: citations within the text of the document and a list of reference citations at the end of the paper.
In-Text Citations:
In-text citations appear in the body of your paper. They identify your use of an idea or quotation from one of your sources. The MLA Handbook uses the author-page citation system for in-text citations.
Reference Citations:
Information about the sources you use in your work are included as a separate list at the end of the paper. The MLA Handbook suggests using the title "Works Cited" for the list.
Any source information that you provide in an in-text citation must correspond to a source in your Works Cited page.
The 9th edition also includes this clarification on citing a film/DVD.
A film/DVD:
Generally list film directors as key contributors in the Contributor element
Blade Runner. 1982. Directed by Ridley Scott, director’s cut, Warner Bros., 1992.