Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Outdoor Education: Scarborough Holdings

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or an article? Use Interlibrary Loan! It's a free service for Shepherd University faculty, staff, students and Scarborough Society members

BOOK/AUDIO-VISUAL

(Please allow 5-10 days for shipping)

There are two ways to request books/av online:

       Go to Worldcat Discovery

OR

       Request an item through Interlibrary Loan

 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

(Usually delivered electronically within three days. Check your email daily (including your 'junk' mail)).

         Request a journal article through Interlibrary Loan

If the article does not arrive within 7 days or if you have any questions, please contact Patrick Weber at pweber@shepherd.edu or 304-876-5691.

Finding Information

BOOKS & VIDEOS

Search books and videos on HPER and related topics in Worldcat Discovery.

REFERENCE COLLECTION

The reference collection includes handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries and directories, as well as pharmacology sources and statistical information. Reference books can be found by Searching Worldcat Discovery, or by browsing the shelves using the Library of Congress Classification listed below. Reference books are shelved on the main floor of Scarborough Library. 

 

FINDING ARTICLES IN HPER JOURNALS, PROFESSIONAL MAGAZINES, and DATABASES

If you know the title of a journal or magazine, check in the Library's Full-text Journal Listing for available. The Full-text Journal Listing is searchable by title or subject.

Students have access to online databases on campus as well as off-campus from the Library's main web page. Off-campus use requires the user to have a campus user ID and password.

Keyword/Subject Searching Help

  • Athletics
  • Ball Games (Specific titles may be used)
  • Diet
  • Discrimination in Sports
  • Doping in Sports
  • Games
  • Health Education
  • Nutrition
  • Olympics
  • Physical Education and Training
  • Physiological Aspects
  • Racket Games (Specific titles may be used)
  • Recreation
  • Sports Medicine
  • Teamwork (Sports)

Browsing the Shelves

Call numbers for HPER and related fields can be found in the following LC Classifications list:

GV Recreation/Leisure

HD    Social Sciences/Land Use

HF   Commerce

LC   Education

QM   Human Anatomy

R     Medicine   

SD   Forestry

SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling

SK Hunting sports