History : Find Articles

• African History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• America: History and Life (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

  History of United States and Canada; indexes cover pre-history to present day. Coverage is from 1954 to date and includes over 490,000 abstracts to journal articles and over 6,000 citations to books and media reviews as well as citations to abstracts of related dissertations. Coverage is worldwide, but 90% of articles are published in English-language journals. All abstracts are in English.
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window

  The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 This link opens in a new window

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 This link opens in a new window

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 This link opens in a new window

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
• American Memory from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window

  American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. (From the Mission Statement) Search by collection or by subject area; American Memory also provides a 'This Day in History' and a featured collection to explore.
• Ancient History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Anthropology Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Archaeology Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Asian History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Box Office Magazine--The Vault This link opens in a new window

  Box Office Magazine-- The Vault offers full scans of back issues of Box Office Magazine from 1940-2009. Current issues (2010) must be subscribed to receive access to anything beyond the current online issue; subscription appears to be free but is on an individual basis.
• Charleston Newspapers News Library This link opens in a new window

  The Charleston Newspapers News Library contains stories from The Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Sunday Gazette-Mail (Metro East, North and West included). Articles were published as far back as January 1985 and as current as one week ago. Searches produce a list of articles with the headline, date, word count and a few sentences of each story. Searches are free; downloading the articles from the site is not. HOWEVER, Shepherd University has microfilm of these papers to view free.
• Country Studies This link opens in a new window

  Online versions of hard-copy military Area Handbooks for countries and geographic locations less well-known than others where the military might be sent, this particular collection contains 101 country profiles, indexed and searchable by country or region of the world. Books in this collection, published between 1988-2011, contain information about countries which may no longer exist in their original configuration (ex. Sudan)
• European Views of the Americas: 1453-1750 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

  This new bibliographic database is a valuable index and comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide.
• Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

  World history (excluding United States and Canada)indexed; indexes provide data from 1450 to present day (Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1954 to date.
• History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Manuscriptorium (European digitized special collections) This link opens in a new window

  The Manuscriptorium project is creating a virtual research environment providing access to all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents). These historical resources, otherwise scattered in various digital libraries around the world, are now available under a single digital library interface. The service provides seamless access to more than 5 million digital images. Not all images can be accessed or viewed at this time, though every item has a citation.
• Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window

  Offers easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
• Military History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• New York Times (1851-2019) : Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window

  This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
• Philosophy Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• PhilSciArchive:An Archive for Pre-prints in Philosphy of Science This link opens in a new window

  Welcome to PhilSci-Archive, an electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work. PhilSci-Archive invites submissions in all areas of philosophy of science, including general philosophy of science, philosophy of particular sciences (physics, biology, chemistry, psychology, etc.), feminist philosophy of science, socially relevant philosophy of science, history and philosophy of science and history of the philosophy of science.This pre-print archive is hosted by the University Library System of the University of Pittsburgh.
• Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window

  No maps are consulted more in academic and public libraries than Sanborn fire insurance maps--the detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities across a century of change. Now they're as close as your keyboard with the Digital Sanborn Maps collection, available online from ProQuest Information and Learning.
• Sports History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window

  The SEP project began in September 1995; originally conceptualized as a (static) online dictionary of philosophy developed into that of a dynamic reference work, an online encyclopedia that would satisfy the highest academic standards. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field, updated on a quarterly basis; entries are in alphabetical order and can be searched in basic or advanced mode.
• Studies by Time Period Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• U.S. History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Western European History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Women's History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
• Wonderful West Virginia Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window

  Starting from the year 1936 and running up to 2007, here are the special reports and past issues which comprise Wonderful West Virginia Magazine. While there is no further index other than by publication year and month, all issues are in PDF format for ease of viewing.
• World History Full Text Articles in Project MUSE

Need an article that the library doesn't have access to? Use Interlibrary Loan! It's a free service for Shepherd University faculty, staff, students and Scarborough Society members.

JOURNAL ARTICLES

(Usually delivered electronically within three days. Check your email daily (including your 'junk' mail)).

         Fill in the Article Request Form

If the article does not arrive within 7 days or if you have any questions, please contact Patrick Weber at pweber@shepherd.edu or 304-876-5691.