Fundamentals of Speech: Databases

Academic Search Complete is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Full text PDF coverage, in some cases, goes back to 1887.

Hosted on the Free Library by Farlex site, these publication links are to online journals and trade publications in the communications media field. (note the site is supported by advertising that does not infringe on the material itself; all content is completely free).

Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.

New York Times (1851-2019) : Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Provides full-text documents from news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications including national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, etc.

Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects; provides a list of the most current topics debated at the present time, links to articles on the topic, and useful assistance in writing a research paper on those topics.

Provides full-text online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.