Subjects: Biology
Tags: biology, botany, life science, microbiology, physiology, zoology

Government Sites

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

National Invasive Species Information Center

The National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) was established in 2005 at the National Agricultural Library to meet the information needs of users including the National Invasive Species Council (Council). NISIC creates and manages the www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov Web site. The Web site serves as a reference gateway to information, organizations, and services about invasive species.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service is responsible for the management, conservation and protection of living marine resources within the United States' Exclusive Economic Zone (water three to 200 mile offshore). Using the tools provided by the Magnuson-Stevens Act, NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service assesses and predicts the status of fish stocks, ensures compliance with fisheries regulations and works to reduce wasteful fishing practices. Under the Marine Mammal Protection Act and the Endangered Species Act, NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service recovers protected marine species (i.e. whales, turtles) without unnecessarily impeding economic and recreational opportunities.

NIH Stem Cell Information

The National Institutes of Health resources for stem cell research.

United States Department of Agriculture

National Library of Agriculture

The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States. It houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

USGS National Wildlife Health Center

The National Wildlife Health Center (NWHC) is a science center of the Biological Resources Discipline of the United States Geological Survey. The NWHC was established in 1975 as a biomedical laboratory dedicated to assessing the impact of disease on wildlife and to identifying the role of various pathogens in contributing to wildlife losses.

USGS Biological Resources Discipline

Scientists in the USGS Ecosystem Mission Area conduct research and monitoring on freshwater, terrestrial, and marine ecosystems and the fish and wildlife within them. Healthy ecosystems provide our society with essential ecosystem services, such as crop pollination, water and air purification, harvestable populations of fish and wildlife, soil replenishment, pest control, and nutrient cycling.

EPA

United States Environmental Protection Agency

Web Resources

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization with a mission of leading a transformation in scientific and medical research communication. Every article we publish is open-access – freely available online for anyone to use – which benefits everyone, from researchers, educators, and patient advocates to funders, policymakers, and the public. Sharing research encourages progress – from protecting the biodiversity of our planet to finding more effective treatments for diseases such as AIDS or cancer.

The Cell: An Image Library

The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online (or Darwin Online) is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published. This website contains over 100,000 pages of searchable text and 214,000 electronic images, at least one exemplar of all known Darwin publications, reproduced to the highest scholarly standards, both as searchable text and electronic images of the originals. The majority of these have been edited and annotated here for the first time with more than 4,700 original editorial notes.

The Conus Biodiversity Website

This web site is part of a National Science Foundation-sponsored project aimed at expanding knowledge of systematics of the unusually diverse marine gastropod genus Conus. The project goals are to integrate species-level revisionary systematics of the major regional faunas, contribute to molecular-based phylogenetic hypotheses, expand predictive classifications, and promulgate the results in both electronic and print media.

efloras.org

This virtual library of online floras offers resources from leading international institutions of botanical research, including the monumental Flora of China and the Flora of North America, which are also published in print. All the floras at this site, which is managed and hosted by the Missouri Botanical Garden, are accessible through a uniform interface, and can be searched by plant family, genera, and print volume number.

Encyclopedia of Earth

The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed  by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Encyclopedia of Life

The Encyclopedia of Life aims to increase awareness and understanding of living nature by gathering, generating and sharing knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.

Faculty 1000

Faculty of 1000 (F1000) identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. Articles are selected by a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who then rate them and explain their importance. From the numerical ratings awarded, F1000 has created a unique system for quantifying the importance of individual articles and, from these article ratings, journals. Both articles and journals can then be ranked overall and, importantly, at the subject, or Faculty, level.

Genes to Coginition Online

Genes to Cognition (G2C) Online is about modern neuroscience. It focuses on cognitive disorders, cognitive processes, and research approaches.

iBioSeminars

iBioSeminars provides accurate contemporary biological information and accounts of up-to-date, cutting-edge developments using simple-to-understand language, reported by scientists and edited by science writers. It is a grant-funded project of the American Society for Cell Biology, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and the University of California, San Francisco.

International Plant Science Center: The New York Botanical Garden

The Botanical Garden is a world leader in plant research and conservation, using traditional and cutting-edge tools to discover, understand, and preserve Earth's vast botanical diversity.

IPM Images

BugwoodImages provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. It is made up of four major website interfaces. These are ForestryImages, IPMImages, InsectImages, and Invasive.org.

Linus Pauling Online

Linus Pauling Online, maintained by Oregon State University, is an admirable compendium of Pauling's immense contributions to the understanding of the molecules that shape our world, and of the issues in the scientific, biomedical, and political spheres that fascinated him over a long, productive life.

Macaulay Library: Sound and Video Catalog

The Macaulay Library is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings. The mission is to collect and preserve recordings of each species' behavior and natural history, to facilitate the ability of others to collect and preserve such recordings, and to actively promote the use of these recordings for diverse purposes spanning scientific research, education, conservation, and the arts.

Microbial Life - Educational Resources

MLER aims to provide a contemporary and expanding resource of expert information about the ecology, diversity and evolution of micro-organisms for students, K-12 teachers, university faculty, as well as for the general public. The resources of MLER include materials that can be accessed through the internet and cover microbial ecology, their evolution and diversity. These resources are built around themes. The initial themes will be directed to microbial life in extreme environments and microbial life in oceans. With close ties to the research community, MLER shortens the distance between researchers and students. The coverage emphasizes the world of microbial organisms - the eubacteria (= bacteria), archaebacteria (= archaea), viruses, and the protists (protozoa, algae, slime molds).

Neurons

This site is designed like a textbook with downloadable animations which can be used in a PowerPoint presentation. Lauched by the University of Toronto, it can be of great use to students and teachers.

NPIN: Native Plant Database

The goal of NPIN is to assemble and disseminate information that will encourage the sustainable use and conservation of native wildflowers, plants and landscapes throughout North America.

Scitable

Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms. Scitable also offers resources for the budding scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths.

The Swingle Plant Anatomy

The Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference Collection project is the result of a 2008-2009 University of Miami Libraries Digital Fellowship awarded to Barbara Whitlock, Associate Professor in Biology. The University of Miami Libraries periodically offer Digital Library Fellowships, which include funding and technological support, to Coral Gables campus faculty interested in creating innovative open access on-line resources designed to have long-term relevance to the teaching, learning, and research goals of University of Miami faculty and students. With her fellowship, Doctor Whitlock led a project to digitize an historical collection of plant anatomical microscope slides that were made early in the 20th century by W.T. Swingle, one of the twentieth century’s foremost authorities on citrus plants.

The Xerces Society

The Xerces Society is a nonprofit organization that protects wildlife through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitat. Established in 1971, the Society is at the forefront of invertebrate protection worldwide, harnessing the knowledge of scientists and the enthusiasm of citizens to implement conservation programs.