Skip to main content

How to Search Project Muse: Home

Introduction

This guide will provide an overview of the Project MUSE  databse provided at Scarborough Library for use by its patrons.  It is split into several sections, indicated by tabs.

  • Basic Searching: performing a basic search
  • Useful Limiters: Pre-Search
  • Useful Limiters: Post Search
  • Off-Campus Access

 

What is Project MUSE?

Project MUSE is a  repository of searchable digital content (a database); this content is focused mainly on history, the arts, and is subdivided into searchable categories or collections (History or Literature).

A journal can be found in Project MUSE under multiple categories depending on what topics the journal covers. In order to discover whether or not a journal is accessible in another database, like EBSCOHost or JSTOR, check the Full Text Journal Listing.

The Question of Peer Review

When a search is made in Project MUSE, the option for choosing a peer-reviewed source does not exist.

Project MUSE is a database that contains only peer-reviewed material.

Peer-reviewed (or scholarly) material is any work (but usually journals) that are written about a specific interest for a particular discipline and all works inside are reviewed by a board of professionals in that field; those professionals decide whether or not an article is accepted into the journal.

What is a Limiter?

Throughout this guide, the term "limiter" will appear with regularity. What is it?

A limiter is a term or subgroup that helps narrow a search to manageable results. A few of the most popular ways to narrow a search include the following:

  • Language
  • Subject Area
  • Publication Year
  • Publication type (book, journal article)

Project MUSE contains all of these limiters and a few that are exclusive to it. For a more thorough review of these options, click the "Useful Limiters" tabs.

 

Assistance Available

Sometimes, not even an online guide is able to explain effectively how to use a resource.

Reference librarians are available to answer questions and to demonstrate how to access resources.

Hours of availability