Skip to main content

Genealogy Resources: Home

Welcome

 Welcome! The Genealogical Resources research guide is a starting point for local history and genealogical research, starting with information within Shepherd Library's collection. Many items within Shepherd's resources for local history include materials in either the library's Special Collections or the Shepherd University Archives. Please visit the Reference and Special Collections Librarian in order to view or use these materials.

Useful Databases and Websites

Listed below are either online subscription databases or online websites for genealogical research.

Sanborn Maps: fire insurance maps for US cities over time. This resource is available at Shepherd University. Off-campus access is limited to Shepherd students, faculty and staff.

WVGeoExplorer Project: mainly provides digitized maps of state and local interest

Ancestry.com Library Edition (visit the Martinsburg Berkeley County Public Library or its branch libraries to use this service for free. They also have an extensive list of historical databases which patrons can search.)

NARA: National Archives and Records Administration

Rootsweb: free genealogical website; part of the Ancestry.com community

FamiliySearch West Virginia Collection

West Virginia Vital Research Records Search : births, marriages, deaths

Jefferson County WVGenWeb

Berkeley County WV GenWeb

Important Call Numbers

The library uses the Library of Congress Classification scheme to arrange and classify most materials that check out. For the purposes of genealogists and local researchers' needs, there are three major subject areas (and call numbers) that pertain most to materials here. They are

CS 71 : Covers general genealogy; general family histories and research

F 247-249  : West Virginia History

Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections

Hours

Hours for the Archive & Special Collections Reading Room are as follows:

Fall & Spring Semesters
Sunday 1 p.m.- 3 p.m.
Monday, Wednesday and Thursday 5 p.m.- 7 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m.- 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Or by appointment

Summer and Intersessions
By appointment only

 

Contact Information

Phone: (304) 876-5417

Email: fmarshal@shepherd.edu