There are several important titles in the Reference collection which are useful for the local historian and genealogist. Three are listed below.
How and where to look it up : resources for researching the history of Jefferson County, West Virginia / William D. Theriault.
Tombstone inscriptions and burial lots / compiled by Bee Line Chapter, National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution.
List of marriages in Jefferson from 1801 to 1853 : [compiled] from the Independent, Shepherdstown, West Virginia, August - December 1938 / [copied by James C. Price].
Extra copies of titles in the reference collection may also be available in the circulating and special collections of Shepherd University.
All titles are hyperlinked to the permanent catalog record, which lists all copies of a work and where they are held.
Special Collections are non-circulating collections of materials related to a specific subject focus; items within may include books, maps, film, audio-visual materials and/or serial publications. The Special Collections held at Shepherd University focus on West Virginia state history and documents with a great focus on the local history of the Eastern Panhandle (Jefferson, Berkeley and Morgan Counties).
Archives and Special Collections of Shepherd University
Shepherd University possesses microfilm and microfiche collections which provide information for researchers; the largest collections are the local newspapers (on microfilm) and the US Census records.
Newspapers
Newspapers are filed by title in the microfilm collection. Some of the most used include the following:
In order to view the entire list of newspapers held at Shepherd University, refer to the Newspapers Libguide.
Census Records
Not all census records or indexes are in the microform collections; however, many are. Unlike the newspapers which are filed by title, the Census records on microfilm have call numbers. Indices and other variant forms (books) of US Census records can be found in WorldCat Discovery using the search term "United States Census."
14th census of population, 1920. West Virginia
HA701.5 1920 .A3
Cataloged Microfilm
Cataloged microfilm is split into subject areas by Library of Congress call number--and within the E and F subject areas (American History--General and American History (by geographic area), there are several microfilmed collections of interest to the local history researcher, including the Thorton Perry Collection, which contains the family papers of local families, account books of merchants, correspondence, and other documents. The entire collection is over thirty film reels long; each box of film has a list of what is on each reel.
Thorton Perry Collection
Since Shepherd University is an academic institution, the library has paper and digital versions of the school yearbooks and class catalogs.
Current Access
The PICKET (school newspaper)
The school newspaper (currently digitized up through 2000) ceased print publication in 2012; it continues online, under the auspices of the Communication and New Media Department.
Physical copies of the PICKET from 1896 up until it ceased print publication are held within the Shepherd University Archives.
College Catalogs
Access to the (digital only) college catalog (and archived past copies) is provided via the Office of the Registrar.