LibGuides: Nursing Resource Guide: Databases

Nursing

AltHealthWatch (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Bioethics Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 5000 nursing journals and publications dating as far back as 1937. Over 3.9 million records. Provides full text for over 1300 journals and 275 monographs. Indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Internal subject thesaurus with over 7,000 terms—2,000 unique to CINAHL.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles as well as protocols focusing on the effects of health care. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings.
Cochrane Methodology Register (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on
eBook Nursing Collection (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs, this subscription collection features more than 600 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
Health Policy Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Health Source--Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Collection of consumer health information that includes these health topics: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source--Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
History of Medicine Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Medicine and Health Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Medical research, clinical practice, policy issues. Coverage: 1997-Current.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Minority Health and Health Equity Archive This link opens in a new window
The Minority Health and Health Equity Archive is an electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy, offered as a no-charge resource to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers interested in the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities. The goal of the Archive is to advance the use of new digital technologies to promote trans-disciplinary scholarship on race, ethnicity and disparities research designed to achieve health equity. This archive is now hosted by the University Library System of the University of Maryland.
National Library of Medicine Catalog--Journals Search This link opens in a new window
This website provides a way to search journals in the National Library of Medicine's catalog by title, subject area, ISSN number or by journal abbreviation.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications including national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, etc.
Open Biology (open access journal) This link opens in a new window
Open Biology is the Royal Society's fast, open access journal covering biology at the molecular and cellular level. This selective, online journal publishes original, high quality research in cell and developmental biology, molecular and structural biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology and genetics.
PLoS: Public Library of Science (Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
PLoS is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization. Their mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. The articles found here are peer-reviewed and open access.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Definitive source from the American Psychological Association (APA),of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Psychology and Psychiatry Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Research database from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Public Health Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Public Health Reports This link opens in a new window
Library use only;ask at reference desk for password.Public Health Reports (PHR) is the official journal of the U.S. Public Health Service, published since 1878. Since 1999, PHR has been published by the Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH).
PubMed.gov This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scifinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFindern is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Scifinderr-n requires an individual login. Assistance with this and other questions can be found on the Scifinder-n Libguide:http://libguides.shepherd.edu/scifinder-n
Social Aspects of Science Full Text Articles in Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
SSOAR: Social Sciences Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window
SSOAR collects electronic full texts from the domain of the Social Sciences and makes these texts available according to the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Scientific Knowledge.
Besides scientists who self-archive their full texts SSOAR wins large quantities of content through co-operation with institutes, scientific associations, publishers and editors. SSOAR mainly pursues the Green Way of Open Access and understands itself as secondary publisher of reviewed literature.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. More than 1.9 million clinicians in 190+ countries rely on UpToDate® to make the best care decisions and stay abreast of contemporary standards in the workflow and on-the-go. Purchased by the Nursing Department and made accessible through Scarborough Library’s website. Users MAY need to log in with Shepherd University e-mail or BrightSpace credentials in order to access the database portal.
First-time users will then be asked to register upon arrival at the UpToDate site. The registration credentials do not have to be Shepherd University related.

Non Nursing Databases

Why use non-nursing databases?

The field of Nursing is a very interdisciplinary one. For example, disciplines such as Education, Sociology, and Communications often overlap with areas of Nursing. Depending on your choice of topic, your search results will be enhanced by including one or more relevant subject databases.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education (AAKPE) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Teacher education, test, measurement, and evaluation.Coverage: 1866-Current.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Full text PDF coverage, in some cases, goes back to 1887.
Country Studies This link opens in a new window
Online versions of hard-copy military Area Handbooks for countries and geographic locations less well-known than others where the military might be sent, this particular collection contains 101 country profiles, indexed and searchable by country or region of the world. Books in this collection, published between 1988-2011, contain information about countries which may no longer exist in their original configuration (ex. Sudan)

Interlibrary Loan

Need an article? Use Interlibrary Loan! It's a free service for Shepherd University faculty, staff, students and Scarborough Society members

JOURNAL ARTICLES

(Usually delivered electronically within three days. Check your email daily (including your 'junk' mail)).

Fill in the Article Request Form

If the article does not arrive within 7 days or if you have any questions, please contact Patrick Weber at pweber@shepherd.edu or 304-876-5691.

TUTORIALS

PubMed Tutorial

https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/nurses/cover.html

Learn how to search PubMed. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

CINAHL Tutorials Online

CINAHL is the Nursing Database. EBSCO's CINAHL Support Center provides varied tutorials to enhance your searching of this major database.

Basic Searching Tutorial

Advanced Searching Tutorial

The Cochrane Library

Download the user guide. The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.

OvidSP Tutorial

https://www.ovid.com/site/resources/index_support.jsp

The MEDLINE and Health & Psychosocial Instruments databases are available through the OvidSP interface. Learn how to search these databases effectively through online tutorials and webinars.

Nursing Resource Guide

Nursing

Non Nursing Databases

Interlibrary Loan

TUTORIALS

Chat/Text